1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving "documents" to another drive?

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by metalmackey, 28 Oct 2007.

  1. metalmackey

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,152

    Location: Behind you

    Hi,

    I have Vista Ultimate 64. Is it possible to move all my documents to my 2nd drive and let Vista know that the documents folder is there and not on the 1st drive?

    Ta
     
  2. marc2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 20,241

    Location: England

    right click it, select properties and goto the location tab. :p
     
  3. metalmackey

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,152

    Location: Behind you

    Ahh, thanks mate:(
     
  4. metalmackey

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,152

    Location: Behind you

    Will games know where to find saved data if I change the location?
     
  5. swinnie

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Apr 2007

    Posts: 3,101

    Location: Kent

    Yes it is changing a system wide folder. So any program looking for your My Docs folder will be directed to the one you specify.
     
  6. metalmackey

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,152

    Location: Behind you

    Thanks. Is it a good idea to have it on a seperate drive?
     
  7. marc2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 20,241

    Location: England

    definitely. i've done it for years. if windows goes belly up, you don't have to worry about backing up your stuff before formatting. (apart from the odd few games that default to saving in \program files)
     
  8. swinnie

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Apr 2007

    Posts: 3,101

    Location: Kent

    It is a lot healthier as what Marc2003 said
     
  9. Jimmy1983

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Mar 2007

    Posts: 4,807

    Location: Portsmouth

    Can you move all off the folder's contacts, desktop, downloads, my docs etc to another internal drive?
     
  10. modo77

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,663

    Location: Sol System

    yes
     
  11. Jimmy1983

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Mar 2007

    Posts: 4,807

    Location: Portsmouth

    Take it the only way is too right click each separate folder to move it?
     
  12. modo77

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,663

    Location: Sol System

    Yup :)
     
  13. Jimmy1983

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Mar 2007

    Posts: 4,807

    Location: Portsmouth

    Eeek, just changed the location off my music folder to my other internal drive and now I can't find the music folder. I previously created a music shortcut and when I try that it says problem with shortcut.

    Any ideas?
     
  14. Conrad11

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 5,362

    I just simply copy and pasted the folders across and it seems to have changed all the locations of where the folders are.
     
  15. Jimmy1983

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Mar 2007

    Posts: 4,807

    Location: Portsmouth

    Yer maybe I should have done that, instead I right clicked then changed location. :(
     
  16. bledd

    Don

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 46,801

    Location: Parts Unknown

    make sure you don't remove the drive before changing the location back to your main drive, otherwise you'll get a ton of problems, mainly when installing programs, you'll have to create a new user account to resolve the problem
     
  17. Jimmy1983

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Mar 2007

    Posts: 4,807

    Location: Portsmouth

    Do you mean physically taking the HDD out off my case?
     
  18. bledd

    Don

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 46,801

    Location: Parts Unknown

    yes,i mean remove it, or change the drive letter in diskmanagement, both will screw things up
     
  19. Jimmy1983

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Mar 2007

    Posts: 4,807

    Location: Portsmouth

    So do you know how I can get the music folder icon back?

    Now it looks like this, and when I try to open it its says 'problem with shortcut.....'

    [​IMG]
     
  20. bledd

    Don

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 46,801

    Location: Parts Unknown

    you may have to create a new user account and use that, but might get away with it since it's music and not my documents

    browse here in regedit

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders]

    and modify the music one to default (create a folder first)