Moving from current role to Financial based role

Soldato
Currently I work as a Storeman in a horticultural firm. This means long 50 hours a week, minimum wage, etc. I have noticed I can earn similar wages working about 36 hours a week as a Finance Officer/similar. However these roles require AAT qualification or experience of SAGE. I'm not really sure what is a "trustworthy" course to take to get this experience and with COVID-19 and the other issues that are going on I need to have the best CV possible. Can anyone suggest anything that might help?

Associate
Don’t mean to come across as rude.... are you currently getting paid overtime working 50 hours a week on min wage? That is crazy if not...

AAT is more to do with accounts payable / receivable as far as I know.. getting experience with sage is going to be hard if you don’t know the basics of accounts, aat level 1 would be a good start to see if you would enjoy it.

Caporegime
Try to find something you'll likely enjoy, I'd not base a career decision on whether you could earn x amount working y hours. There are plenty of potential roles out there that likely pay more than you're currently earning and/or might well have much better career progression opportunities - if you have enough spare time then perhaps look at taking a part time course etc.. related to a role you mgiht enjoy. Hopefully things might be better re: Covid etc.. by the time you finish it.

Soldato
Don’t mean to come across as rude.... are you currently getting paid overtime working 50 hours a week on min wage? That is crazy if not...

AAT is more to do with accounts payable / receivable as far as I know.. getting experience with sage is going to be hard if you don’t know the basics of accounts, aat level 1 would be a good start to see if you would enjoy it.

AAT covers basically all basic accounting, so double entry bookeeping mainly, learning how the P&L and Balance sheets work and then performance ratios.

Man of Honour