1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving Gaming PC to Garage Server Racking, HOW TO?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Ash3000k, 24 Feb 2020.

  1. Ash3000k

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Aug 2016

    Posts: 16

    Hi all,
    I have a very power hungry i7-5820k + 1080 TI in my gaming PC in my first floor of my house and its quite loud even water cooled (AIO)

    I cant really OC it too much as it gets waaaay too loud :mad:

    I have a server rack in my garage which is nice and cool and would like to move the PC there, what are my options???

    I have GB Ethernet between all these devices

    I have a 4k Acer Monitor (DVI only)

    I also have a NUC I could use as a thin client or something???

    Open to ideas, thanks in advance, :D
     
  2. PiKe

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,723

    Location: Lake District

    You could run hdmi over ethernet to get the video signal to your monitor, then have a hdmi to dvi converter, not sure what you could do about USB devices though.
     
  3. LuckyBenski

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Dec 2017

    Posts: 4,812

    Location: London

    Linus did a video on this recently - but he had expensive cables and new hardware/cards that support things like DisplayPort and USB over Thunderbolt. Worth a watch.
     
  4. Ash3000k

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Aug 2016

    Posts: 16

    Thanks both,

    I was hoping to use software only, like have the NUC in my study connected to my 4K screen / keyboard etc, then kinda remote in to the gaming PC in the rack

    I dont really have any budget for this for expensive cables / adaptors etc
     
  5. chroniclard

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2014

    Posts: 16,688

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Why is it so loud, surely the cheapest option would be making it not loud? :p
     
  6. Ash3000k

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Aug 2016

    Posts: 16

    Its mainly the factory cooler on the 1080 TI but as it still has 5 years warranty so I cant really swap it
     
  7. chroniclard

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2014

    Posts: 16,688

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Which model is it? Better fans might work.
     
  8. Ash3000k

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Aug 2016

    Posts: 16

  9. LuckyBenski

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Dec 2017

    Posts: 4,812

    Location: London

    Try using Steam remote play, I forget the name. Works ok but obviously will compress graphics and may not do 4k at all. Suits your needs perfectly though
     
  10. Ash3000k

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Aug 2016

    Posts: 16

    Thanks, I took a look and on their webiste is this:

    You can tune streaming resolution and bitrate for the best experience on your setup with Advanced Settings. Over a 5 GHz network, our target is a resolution of 1080p at 60 frames per second, with good quality for most scenes. If you have a powerful gaming rig, a wired network, and a capable client device, it's possible to stream 4K at 60 FPS.

    But it seems like you cannot use the desktop / other programs of the Gaming PC, only games, but I will deffo give it a go thanks,
     
  11. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2014

    Posts: 11,689

    Location: Aberdeen


    A full watercooling loop seems a good idea. If you don't want to brave that, try this:

     
  12. Ash3000k

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Aug 2016

    Posts: 16

    Hi, Would this void my warranty?
     
  13. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2014

    Posts: 11,689

    Location: Aberdeen

    I don't know.
     
  14. Bluecube

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Feb 2011

    Posts: 2,086

    Steam Link for games (though Steam only) and just use RDP when you want to access your garage based PC for other purposes.
     
  15. LuckyBenski

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Dec 2017

    Posts: 4,812

    Location: London

    I THINK that if you add other games' executables to your Steam launcher, you can use Link for other games. Same for desktop, there's a trick IIRC
     
  16. Ash3000k

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Aug 2016

    Posts: 16

    Sounds good, I will try it when I get home tonight

    Also found a program called Parsec:

    https://parsecgaming.com/

    Anyone used it before? looks like it may be perfect for my needs
     
  17. chroniclard

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2014

    Posts: 16,688

    Location: Hertfordshire

  18. Pho

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,091

    Location: Derbyshire

    I've used it before works pretty well. You can also use it to game remotely if you like (you'll need a decent low latency Internet connection for past paced games obviously).

    There are others such as Moonlight which some say are better.. I'd try both. https://moonlight-stream.org


    I've been looking to do something similar recently too, I want to hide my PC out the way and ideally be able to use a HDMI splitter to switch output between a couple of different rooms. Looks like I'm going to need fancy hdmi extenders if I want to avoid having extra hardware on the end to reach 4k@60Hz though. I have just come across fibre optic hdmi cables this morning though, wonder if they may help
     
  19. Ash3000k

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Aug 2016

    Posts: 16

    Thanks, let me know how you get on,