1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MSI GEFORCE RTX 3080 VENTUS 3X OC Problems

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Alex J, 22 Sep 2020.

  1. Alex J

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Sep 2020

    Posts: 23

    So i recently recieved my MSI GeForce RTX 3080 Ventus 3X OC and i'm getting crashing problems with it. So basically when im in game within the first few seconds of playing it crashes (not Blue screen crashes out of the game) and i believe the problem is the factory overclock is too high, as the core clock speed boosts all the way up to 2010Mhz in game and as soon as it reaches that speed it crashes. It does this in all games. The only way i can fix this problem is by downclocking the core clock in msi after burner. Another thing that is strange is that MSI stated that the normal clock speed is 1440Mhz but it never goes that low even in idle, and the boost clock is 1740Mhz and that is the speed it sits at in idle. But as soon as you go in game its starts overclocking itself upwards towards 2010Mhz and crashes itself. I use no auto overclocking software of any kind, and haven't tried to overclock it once. the only thing i have done is downclock it to make it actully work in game. i am also using all the lastest Nvidia Drivers. Anyone have any ideas ?

    GPU: MSI GeForce RTX 3080 Ventus 3X OC
    CPU : i7 8700k Delid 5ghz
    MOBO: msi z370 pc pro
    corsair 2400mhz ddr4
    PSU: tx750m
    Driver: 456.38
    Driver type: DCH
     
    Last edited: 22 Sep 2020
  2. Nilithym

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2010

    Posts: 9

    Hi, If you have the Dragon Centre software installed, try uninstalling that. Do you have the 8 pin power daisy chained off one cable? (check that).

    And of course make sure latest driver is installed (456.38) @ tow
     
  3. Setras

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Sep 2020

    Posts: 65

    Location: Farnborough

    You could try disabling RTX voice from the system tray (right click and exit). I have found that this locks the card mem to max speed available and the clock to base speed and has cause me some stability issues with MS2020 (currently using RTX 2070).
     
  4. turbot1984

    Gangster

    Joined: 6 Jan 2012

    Posts: 459

    What PSU do you have and how old?
     
  5. Alex J

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Sep 2020

    Posts: 23

    Hi i tried it both with and without the dragon center software installed, no difference. sorry i don't get what you mean by daisy chained off one cable. i have a two 6+2 pin pcie connections coming straight from the PSU with one cable
     
  6. Alex J

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Sep 2020

    Posts: 23

    i have a brand new tx750m psu
     
  7. Alex J

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Sep 2020

    Posts: 23

    i don't seem to see rtx voice in the sytem tray. the only programs from nvidia in the tray is the usual control panel and geforce experience
     
  8. Alex J

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Sep 2020

    Posts: 23

    i tried it both with and without the dragon center software installed, no difference. sorry i don't get what you mean by daisy chained off one cable. i have a two 6+2 pin pcie connections coming straight from the PSU with one cable
     
  9. Aaron Gibb

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Sep 2020

    Posts: 5

    thats a daisy chain! try using 2 6+2pin cables from PSU. another thing you could check if your card supports it is the status LED's on back plate near where the cables plug in. Good Luck man.
     
  10. Jay85

    Soldato

    Joined: 22 May 2010

    Posts: 5,104

    Location: Gulag

    try upping the power target in msi afterburner and see if you can get it stable at default clocks.
     
  11. roddypoddy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Jun 2006

    Posts: 1,138

    Location: leicester

    Two connections off one cable is daisy chaining,use two separate cables.
     
  12. Alex J

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Sep 2020

    Posts: 23

    do you mean the power limit ?. if so it doesn't go any higer than 100%, which is weird as my old msi armor 1080ti could go above 100%
     
  13. Alex J

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Sep 2020

    Posts: 23

    thanks i'll give it a go
     
  14. Alex J

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Sep 2020

    Posts: 23

    okay thanks will do
     
  15. Alex J

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Sep 2020

    Posts: 23

    So i tried it with two seperate pcie connections and still the same problem. when it hits 2010Mhz clock it crashes out of the game. i have a feeling the factory overclock is too high or wrong
     
  16. Lokken86

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Mar 2010

    Posts: 4,901

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Could try downclocking the CPU instead and then try running the card at stock. If it works then your psu isn't strong enough.
     
  17. Jay85

    Soldato

    Joined: 22 May 2010

    Posts: 5,104

    Location: Gulag

    Hmm actually reading on abit its been reported some cards don't go above 100% as they're already at their limit.
     
  18. VincentHanna

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2013

    Posts: 22,037

    But did you try using seperate cables from the PSU?
     
  19. Alex J

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Sep 2020

    Posts: 23

    yes i tried two completly seperate cables from the PSU
     
  20. Alex J

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Sep 2020

    Posts: 23

    i tried downclocking the CPU too but didnt seem to make any difference