1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Much upgrade from E4300 to E8400???

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Malazan, 16 Apr 2010.

  1. Malazan

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Aug 2008

    Posts: 525

    I have my E4300 running @ 2.7 GHZ , and i'd imagine i'd be able to get the E8400 to 4 GHZ.

    Rig is sig, shortly will be getting another 2 GIG of RAM (only 32 bit system sadly)

    Cheers.

    :)
     
  2. Redmint

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,190

    Location: Guildford

    It's a decent upgrade and you'll notice a fair boost in games.
     
  3. C64

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Mar 2007

    Posts: 12,809

    Location: London

    The 4300 you have should do 3.2 - 3.5 ghz have you tried it ? not sure an 8400 is a worthwhile enough upgrade tbh I'd go with a q6600 or other quad.
    Dual core to dual core just isn't worth it.
     
  4. G_Wizz

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Mar 2004

    Posts: 888

    E8400 is loads faster, no comparison really.
     
  5. C64

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Mar 2007

    Posts: 12,809

    Location: London

    Yea but a nice clocking q6600 is still the better option from an e4300.
     
  6. G_Wizz

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Mar 2004

    Posts: 888

    Depends really what he is paying and what he is using it for, both would be a big improvement but for normal use an E8400 @ 4ghz or more would be a massive improvement.
     
  7. Redmint

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,190

    Location: Guildford

    You sure? Back when I had a 4400 I thought they pretty much maxed out at 3GHz.
     
  8. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2009

    Posts: 21,376

    Location: Planet Earth

    I would get a Q6600 or one of the newer socket 775 quad cores.

    I went from a E4500 at around 2.9GHZ to a Q6600 at a similar speed and it was a good upgrade IMHO.

    Both my E4300 and E4500 processors could hit around 3.1GHZ to 3.2GHZ IIRC.
     
  9. C64

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Mar 2007

    Posts: 12,809

    Location: London

    I had a 4300 did 3.2 easily
     
  10. Malazan

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Aug 2008

    Posts: 525

    It won't go past about 2.8.

    My budget would be about £150 tops.
     
  11. Th3D0n

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Jul 2007

    Posts: 1,840

    Location: Rochdale/whitworth

    Get a Q9400
     
  12. Malazan

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Aug 2008

    Posts: 525

    Any other suggestions?

    :)
     
  13. Jae-So

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,192

    Location: UK

    second hand q9550
     
  14. Malazan

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Aug 2008

    Posts: 525


    I'm thinking 2nd hand tbh.
     
  15. Devrij

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Jul 2009

    Posts: 13,702

    Location: Bath

    Keep in mind that with an e8400 you get a max cpu multi of 9 so to get to 4+GHz on pc2 6400 ram you'll have to push your ram quite hard or even upgrade to 1066. If you do, however, you can get up to 4GHz no problem, and I found 4.5GHz quite easily even with a £12 cpu cooler lol.
     
    Last edited: 19 Apr 2010
  16. Malazan

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Aug 2008

    Posts: 525


    I am also upgrading my RAM to 4GIG. I'll be buying a £12 quid type cooler too!

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-192-CS&groupid=701&catid=8&subcat=817

    How about this RAM with E8400?

    If I can get to 4GHZ, that'll be fine for me.
     
  17. Sparx

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Jul 2007

    Posts: 4,631

    Location: Lincolnshire

    No selling outside of the MM.
     
  18. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 19,102

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    That ram will be fine although it's a ridiculous price for old tech. I only paid £52 for my ram in my siggy 6 months ago. For a comparison of a E4300 vs E8500 at various speeds, see my comparison thread here. My old E4300 easily got to 3.4Ghz so they are capable of higher clocks.


    This would be the best buy though.
     
  19. big_ray_t

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Mar 2010

    Posts: 126

    Location: North London

    Damn, just paid £90 for mine plus the p&p. Never mind, happy enough I suppose, ;)
     
  20. Malazan

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Aug 2008

    Posts: 525


    I've noticed RAM is a stupid price again, my board won't take DDR3 so i'm stuck with old tech as you say.