1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MX Record Help

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Smokes, 18 Jan 2006.

  1. Smokes

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,588

    Location: Aberystwyth, West Wales

    Afternoon. Right I need to setup a MX record for one of my mates so that email is pushed to the destination via smtp rather than collected from a pop3 box.

    The domain has been registered with uk2 and they have the mx record address as uk2mxarray3.uk2.net reading as "MX 0 uk2mxarray3.uk2.net"

    Now the only option I have is to change the address, and I've set this up as the static IP thats used onsite, so it now reads "MX 0 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx"

    Is this likely to work fine? I can't test it untill the uk2 nameservers restart over night but just wanted to make sure it was setup right first. Do I have to add anything to the exchange server that will be collecting the mail?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. #Chri5#

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Feb 2003

    Posts: 6,980

    Location: Shropshire

    I thought MX records had to point to a FQDN, not an IP - happy to be told otherwise though...
     
  3. Cuchulain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Dec 2004

    Posts: 7,627

    Location: Derry

    You could just set up another A record of say "somethingorother.domainname.com" and point that to the IP address, then point your MX record to "somethingorother" that should work fine.
     
  4. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    MX records can point to an IP address, but not to a CNAME.
     
  5. Smokes

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,588

    Location: Aberystwyth, West Wales

    Thanks for your replies guys. Just sent a test email on the off chnce and it works, so looks like its fine with just an IP address.

    Cheers :)
     
  6. Smokes

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,588

    Location: Aberystwyth, West Wales

    Ok so its appears to be working from most mail servers but have just had a call to say that one email has been bounced because because the MX record contains an ip address and not a domain name :(

    Cuchulain - if I create another A record mx.domain.com that points to the static IP address, then use mx.domain.com as the MX record, will that work?
     
  7. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    Yep.
     
  8. Smokes

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,588

    Location: Aberystwyth, West Wales

    Ok while I've got your attention, how would I go about setting up a backup mx record? So if for instance their broadband line goes down, the mail gets sent to a backup pop3 box hosted elsewhere.

    Is it a case of setting another A record up to point to another host with a pop 3 box, then adding another mx record to point to that with a priority of say 10, so it would read

    MX 10 backupmx.domain.com

    TIA :)
     
  9. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    Just add another MX record with a higher cost then the primary one. Something like:

    mycompany.com. IN MX 10 mail.mycompany.com
    mycompany.com. IN MX 20 mail.anothercompany.com

    would do the trick. The higher the cost, the less favourable the mail server will become.
     
  10. Smokes

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,588

    Location: Aberystwyth, West Wales

    Excellent, thanks very much :D