1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need a WebCam

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by WatchTower, 27 Mar 2006.

  1. WatchTower

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 4,433

    Location: Stoke-On-Trent

    I built my first PC from scratch for my dad on saterday it all worked 1st time apart from a power LED which was easy to sort out yay me.

    Now back to the point. :D

    The PC will be used by my little bro who is a MSN nutter and my Mum and Dad who are Ebay nutters. :D So a webcam is needed for MSN and it'l be needed to take good quailty photos of items for Ebay. I think he'll pay up to about £45.

    I'l be greatfull for any help
    Thanks
     
  2. Andy100

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Feb 2003

    Posts: 1,771

    Location: Sydney, Australia

    Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000 - Retail (WC-014-LG) 1
    £32.95 £32.95
    Subtotal £32.95
    VAT £5.77
    Total £38.72

    Really good webcam with built it mic. It's easy to set up and easy to use.
     
  3. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,957

    Location: England

    Eyetoy, best webcam out there, integrated mic and costs £7.
     
  4. 4T5

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Aug 2004

    Posts: 27,746

    Location: Middle of England


    This man speaks the truth.
    I have an old Logitech webcam works fine enouth but a mate on MSN has the eyetoy and it owns. The pictures are crystal clear and loads better than mine.
    Eyetoy for the win.
     
  5. volt9291

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Feb 2006

    Posts: 615

    yeah look on the bay for an eyetoy. Really good IMO
     
  6. amx

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Dec 2005

    Posts: 815

    I bought the quickcam pro recently and it is a really good camera, the picture quality is superb.

    However, if you use daemon tool's this webcam can be a pain as there seems to be some compatibility problems between the webcam driver and the daemon tool's SCSI driver.

    If you have daemon tools installed, Windows will not boot if the webcam is plugged in during startup. It has to be unplugged when windows is shut down and plugged back in once you are at the desktop :(
     
  7. stickman1

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 839

    Location: Glasgow ex pat,> Rugeley

    Another vote for the eyetoy :)
     
  8. SidewinderINC

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Feb 2004

    Posts: 5,213

    Location: Dartford, Kent

    +1 to the eyetoy votes!
     
  9. ArmyofHarmony

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,872

    Location: hell

    Guys i've been using an Eye Toy webcam but i have a problem,


    sometimes it just isnt recognised in windows.

    example,

    I plug it in, the light comes on the eye toy... moments later i get some USB error saying it doesn't recognise the device (doesn't allow me to reinstall drivers).

    Now sometimes, it works fine... i don't know why... I might try using it a few days later and it will randomly be working (assume i had it plugged in since it didn't work the first time).

    I got the eye toy of ebay, maybe its faulty... i don't know...

    When it works though, the quality is great.
     
  10. Dreadi

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Feb 2006

    Posts: 6,721

    with the eyetoy, i read somewhere that you have to install the drivers everytime you unplug it and then plug it back in, is this true ??
     
  11. ArmyofHarmony

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,872

    Location: hell

    its probably true, when mine works im pretty sure it makes me install drivers again

    but sometimes it randomly works on its own
     
  12. Gibber

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 420

    Location: Nr Wrexham, North Wales

    I have an Eyetoy and have never had to do this....