1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Need an upgrade!

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Quantic, 5 Feb 2006.

  1. Quantic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 15 Sep 2005

    Posts: 653

    Hey guys,

    I currently have 1gb DDR ram, X800XT PE card, but only an AMD Athlon 2800XP. Now I have the feeling that the CPU is seriously bottlenecking my system so looking for an upgrade but a bit confused. I can't put an AMD 64 chip in my board can I? (A7N8X mobo) and they don't do 3200+ chips any more for my board. So would you recommend an AMD 64 capable mobo with a 3200+ chip? Or something that supports dual core?

    Cheers!
     
  2. whitecrook

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 22 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,393

    Location: Clydebank

    I have been looking for the 400FSB 3200 XP chip. Can I get a new one anymore?

    I too, currently have a socket A 1GB Athlon 1900XP and am looking for a decent upgrade path. It's looking more and more like a complete system rebuild though.
     
  3. kinggost

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,860

    Location: Nottingham

    No you cant get socket a any more amd dont make them
     
  4. kinggost

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,860

    Location: Nottingham

    If you want dual core go for the 3800+ and overclock it with the dfi mobo
     
  5. Quantic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 15 Sep 2005

    Posts: 653

    Ok, if I went for the X2, would the fan I have for my 2800+ be OK for it? Is it just a straight job of attaching the new fan over the new X2? Or do I need thermal paste or something?
     
  6. kinggost

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,860

    Location: Nottingham

    i think you can only get the dual core it retail packing so you will get a hsf in it the the mobo got the retention bracket with it
     
  7. Quantic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 15 Sep 2005

    Posts: 653

    Ahhh right, so the retail pack will have everything I need to install it! Great stuff! Thank you :D
     
  8. sablabra

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,223

    Yeah, just make sure you don't buy BULK ;)
     
  9. kinggost

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,860

    Location: Nottingham

    yeh the heat sink comes with heat paste on the bottom of it
     
  10. brightside_

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jan 2006

    Posts: 494

    Location: Lincoln

    jsut remember that if you buy an X2, you will need a new motherboard too (no one else has said this, and I don't want you buying a chip that won't work with your motherboard)

    To work with the majority of new AMD processors, you will need a socket 939 Motherboard. Socket A is about 2 generations back.

    If you have the money to upgrade, I would personally go for an X2 as they are likely to be able to run for a while with their dual core capablities. You will also need a socket 939 motherboard that supports dual core processors (most new ones do, just check before you buy) If you only want to upgrade the processor, you going to have to buy a 2nd hand Socket A processor!