1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by .DevastatioN, 19 Jun 2006.

  1. .DevastatioN

    Associate

    Joined: 10 May 2006

    Posts: 70

    Hi all,
    I need some help, my friend is building a pc. He needs to choose: AMD64 3800+ or the Pentium D 805, he also wants to overclock. If he gets a AMD he can get the DFI Ultra D(which is really good, i heard) or if he gets the Pentium D, which should he get then?

    Also what ram should he get? (DDR400) Preferable G.Skill. Since I dont know much about the speed FSB/RAm should be the same?

    The pentium D is also 25€ cheaper then the AMD. So if the chooses the PD, he can spend it on a good HS? He's not going to wait for conroe.
     
    Last edited: 19 Jun 2006
  2. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,894

    Location: Tosche Station

    RAM speed isn't really a problem with AMD overclocking anymore, just get a DDR400 kit from a good brand with low latencies. Not a clue about the intel.
     
  3. .DevastatioN

    Associate

    Joined: 10 May 2006

    Posts: 70

    Okay, but what processor should he get? The AMD 3800 or the Pentium D 805?
     
  4. Mikey1280

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: South East London

    I take it you mean the x2 3800? What is the rig for? If you get the pentium d then you will need ddr2 ram.
     
  5. .DevastatioN

    Associate

    Joined: 10 May 2006

    Posts: 70

    No just the 3800, not the x2, the x2 3800 is 300euro's here to much for him and the pentium D 805 is 125 euro's. What ram will he need? DDR667? 800? 533?
    The rig is for gaming.
     
    Last edited: 19 Jun 2006
  6. Mikey1280

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: South East London

    Dont get the single core 3800 then. Get the 805 with some ddr2 mem, I dont know what speed etc as I know nothing about intel tbh
     
  7. .DevastatioN

    Associate

    Joined: 10 May 2006

    Posts: 70

    Okay, I'll wait for some other intel dudes. We will overclock it to around 3,5ghz I think, so what ram speed will we need? And will the zalman 7700AlCu/Cu or the 9500 will be enough to keep it cool?
     
    Last edited: 19 Jun 2006
  8. Mikebert4

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Apr 2006

    Posts: 224

    Location: Peterborough, UK

    As high a RAM speed as you can afford is my Mantra.

    if it's DDR2, you'll want it high, as they've got silly high latencies, and you'll want the clock frequencies to compensate.

    still, i'm no Intel buff, so I can't advise past there.

    good luck!
     
  9. .DevastatioN

    Associate

    Joined: 10 May 2006

    Posts: 70

    Okay anyone here intel freak? :p Should I get higher ram DDR800, with high latencies(cl5 or maybe 4), or lower, DDR 533,677, with CL3,4? ? I heard I should get 677ram with nice timings and use a 3:4 divider on them?
    Cmon there must be someone who can help me!

    Is this mobo good enough?
    MSI K9N Platinum nF570,
    Asus P5ND2 SLI

    hes on a sorta budget and doesnt want to spend much. (Also for overclock compatible?)

    HMma bout the ram, I think this
    GEIL Value DDR2 Dual Channel 1Gb 2x512MB PC5300 667MHz Alu CL 4-4-4-12

    should get him far enough? for 37 euros he can have
    DDR2 OCZ 1Gb 667 Platinum XTC 2K CL3.0


    EDit: This is the right forum for it? If not can a mod please move?thx :)
     
    Last edited: 20 Jun 2006