1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need some help!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by e36Adz, 16 May 2006.

  1. e36Adz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2003

    Posts: 11,218

    Location: Manchester, UK

    Appreciate it if anyone can give me some idea here about what could be wrong.

    Spec:

    Abit KR7A-Raid
    Athlon XP 2000
    512MB DDR 2100
    Geforce Ti4200

    The above pc doesnt seem to be working. Iv taken it all apart so just the above components are connected, once I plug the PSU in and switch it on, an orange light on the motherbaord comes on, however it doesnt boot up.

    I have tried everything I can think off, and its the same every time... the motherboard doesnt boot up. Is it dead? Or have I possibly missed something :confused:

    Its driving me mad, just cant figure out for the life of me whats wrong :mad: :)
     
  2. semi-pro waster

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 25,829

    Location: Glasgow

    Have you tried building it outside the case to make sure there are no shorts? It quite possibly is dead but it may also be worth resetting CMOS in case there is an incompatible setting stored there.
     
  3. R B Customs

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,262

    Location: Manchester

    you have plugged the power on switch into the right header havnt you ?
     
  4. e36Adz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2003

    Posts: 11,218

    Location: Manchester, UK

    Yes iv taken it out of the case, i had no other choice since everything else I tried was unsuccessful!

    I cant figure out how the motherboard can be dead. The original motherboard in the PC was an Abit KT7 with 512MB PC133 ram, that motherboard did die however, this motherboard was a spare one which I had. I picked up the DDR ram yesterday for it, and its not booting up at all. The light is coming on however, does that mean it could still be dead?
     
  5. e36Adz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2003

    Posts: 11,218

    Location: Manchester, UK

    Im using a screwdriver to try 'jump start' it!