1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Some Replacement 80mm Fans

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by scott.holmes, 8 Mar 2006.

  1. scott.holmes

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Mar 2004

    Posts: 787

    Location: Blackpool, England

    Evening All

    Im putting together a cheap(ish) PC, and ive managed to find a PSU i bought ages ago, problem is its a Q-Tec 400w and i remember stopping using it cos it was too noisy.

    So, im going to change the two cooling fans inside. They are both 80mm, but the header is only 2 Wires, Red and Black, so i need two Totally Quiet fans to replace these with.

    Can anyone recommend me a couple from the shop?
     
  2. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,690

    Location: London

    In your position I would bin the q-tech and look at a combined case/psu from Antec, very good value for money and gives a nice new chassis to hide your cheap components in.
     
  3. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    Q-Tec :eek:

    Try the Akasa Ambers, or Vantec Stealths. They seem to be the most popular. :)

    If you can afford to get a new PSU, I would adivse that instead.
     
  4. act smiley

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 Dec 2005

    Posts: 515

    Q-Tec = meltdown. I've seen 2 failures in 5 with those things. :(
     
  5. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,832

    Location: Tosche Station

    [​IMG]
     
  6. scott.holmes

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Mar 2004

    Posts: 787

    Location: Blackpool, England

    I know they are pants, but i dont want to spend any more money on this thing, it was supposed to be built from spare parts!

    It will do for now, if its really not upto it i might replace it, but til then just need a couple of quieter fans for it.

    Ive looked all over the site, and i can find only 3 Pin fans, anyone tell me where i can get 2 Pin ones?

    Edit: ROFL at that pic :)
     
  7. this_is_gav

    Soldato

    Joined: 17 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,743

    Location: Northumberland

    Just as long as you're aware that if it does pop, it's most likely not just the PSU you'll end up replacing, but potentially half of your tower (hard drives, RAM and CPUs the most susceptible to damage, but also your motherboard, graphics card and optical drives are open to damage).
     
  8. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,155

    Location: Shropshire

    ROFL AGAIN With That Pic man !!
     
  9. Ugley_Matt

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,540

    Panaflo 80LA are worth a look.
     
  10. Street

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2005

    Posts: 7,934

    Location: Liverpool

    haha, that pic always crops up when Q-Tec are mentioned:)
     
  11. dagwoood

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 695

    Location: West Midlands, UK.

    The Akasa Ambers come with a converter so you can attach them to a PSU dongle.

    I had a Q-Tec PSU die on me; it didn't go pop, it just stopped working. It borked my motherboard, a hard drive and a stick of RAM :(
     
  12. scott.holmes

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Mar 2004

    Posts: 787

    Location: Blackpool, England

    Well, it seems all is not good with the Q-Tec! I think after all your warnings, i did right in ordering a new case.

    I got a cheap case with a 400w PSU in there, not sure on the brand but it should be better than the Q-Tec. The case was only £30, considering it was going to be maybe £10 for just 2 fans, money well spent i think!

    So everyone should be happy now, the Q-Tec shant be used :)
     
  13. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    You'd be surprised how many £30 cases come with Q-Tecs, lol :eek: :D
     
  14. scott.holmes

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Mar 2004

    Posts: 787

    Location: Blackpool, England

    Rofl, then i would just kill myself!!
     
  15. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    Allow the Q-Tec to assist you :D
     
  16. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,690

    Location: London

    scott.holmes you tight git have you bought one of those ANTEC Case/PSU combos yet? ;)

    Fair enough making a PC from spare parts but for the price of a new PSU you could get one of these?

    [​IMG]
    £46.94
     
  17. scott.holmes

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Mar 2004

    Posts: 787

    Location: Blackpool, England

    I looked at those, but wanted cheaper :)

    This was less than £30, its going to get sold soon anyway, building to sell i hope...

    PS: I half scottish, so thats to blame for the tightness!! hehe
     
  18. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,690

    Location: London

    Yup I kinda picked that up (Q-Tech!).

    If you pay Peanuts you will always get Monkeys, you will learn in time I guess, I never listened to anyone when I was new either ;)
     
  19. scott.holmes

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Mar 2004

    Posts: 787

    Location: Blackpool, England

    Im not new, ive been working with PCs for many years :)

    And i do listen, i listen alot. However, i cant afford to spend much more on it, so this will keep me going for now. If i find its not, next payday will be here soon and i can upgrade the PSU :)

    But to get it all installed and tested, the one that comes with the case should be fine, as long as its not Q-Tec that is!
     
  20. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,690

    Location: London

    I find that hard to believe, as you own a Q-Tech PSU and don't have the spare cash to buy an entry level ANTEC case ;)