1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need to upload a large file...

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Indy500, 19 Jun 2006.

  1. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    Anyone know where I can upload a 360mb ISO so my friend can download it? I cant get FTP clients to work...
     
  2. Inquisitor

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Apr 2004

    Posts: 11,788

    Location: Birmingham

    The only way you're really going to be able to do that is to host it on your own machine with an FTP server, and let him download it. Unless you're willing to buy a hosting package that will fit a 360MB file on it :p
     
  3. iCraig

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 21 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,314

    Location: Wolverhampton

    Can't you burn to a CD and just give it to him?
     
  4. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    Hes 100 miles away at the moment. Insisted that I should send it via FTP\the web rather than post it to him.

    I've tried WAMP and IIS and cant get them to share the file...
     
  5. Kerplunk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 10 Jan 2006

    Posts: 9,047

    Location: Bournemouth tbh

    Upload to GMail? :D
     
  6. iCraig

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 21 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,314

    Location: Wolverhampton

    Use Gmail? They have a huge storage, attachment limit IIRC.

    Edit: 0.3 seconds too slow :( :p
     
  7. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    I'll try that.
     
  8. VeNT

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Jan 2003

    Posts: 20,695

    Location: Cornwall

    or alternativly post this in the networking forum?
     
  9. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    Was going to, but figured it would get more views here.

    Ok, Gmail isnt working either, just refuses to upload it :(
     
    Last edited: 19 Jun 2006
  10. Scott Salisbury

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,588

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    If you want you can use my home ftp server if your mate doesn't mind downloading it at 30kbps capped.
     
  11. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    Ok, thanks :)
     
  12. Beansprout

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 31 Jan 2004

    Posts: 16,319

    Location: Plymouth

    MSN me babe, I'll fix you up :cool:
     
  13. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    Sorted now...just wish my upload speed was better than 256k :(
     
  14. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    Anyone got FTP that uploads quicker than 6kb\s?
     
  15. xtreme.BIN

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 1 Jun 2006

    Posts: 119

    filefactory
     
  16. encephalopathy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Aug 2003

    Posts: 1,181

    Location: N Ireland

    gmail will only take 10mb files, but has 2gb of storage

    why not just burn the iso to disk and post it??

    or send it via icq/msn
     
  17. Sp00n

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,205

    Location: Brighton

  18. Gaverick

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,173

    Location: Seaham, Co. Durham

    I have a upload script on my site, 500mb filesize limit and the speeds are quite decent also

    http://pczone.knhosting.co.uk/upload.html

    Feel free to use it, it's just sitting there doing nothing, but make sure your friend uses a download manager incase his internet goes down or the server locks up so the download can be resumed.
     
  19. GSDog

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2004

    Posts: 5,463

    Location: Surrey

    I might be able to sort my FTP out so you can use it. It is usualy super-dupa quick - I've had peeps downloading/uploading at full speed with their 24MB connections.

    Pop me a mail and I will try and sort it out, I havent used it for a while.

    He will need an FTP program though.

    EDIT: Ok, I have sorted the FTP out. Email or add me to MSN and I will give you the details. I have 10GB space which I'm not using and It's damn quick.
     
    Last edited: 20 Jun 2006
  20. Beansprout

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 31 Jan 2004

    Posts: 16,319

    Location: Plymouth

    For the record that's down to the OP's broadband which was being temporarily crappy (5ms then to 700ms pings!!) :p