1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New ADSL2+ broadband router help

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Dale, 9 Jun 2010.

  1. Dale

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Jan 2004

    Posts: 662

    Location: Sussex

    Hi all,

    Just upgraded my broadband here at home (with Zen) to the ADSL2+ service, router (Netgear DG834N) started syncing happily around 10mb, but now has dropped to 7.5mb.

    Router has also started being a little unstable recently, but in an odd way, router stays connected, and I can browse to the routers settings happily enough, but it seems to loose all DNS ability (even though it is still connected and sending and receive packets).

    So, thinking of changing my router to something newer, question is what model though? I honestly don't mind the price if that means getting me something reliable, that can hold a decent connection speed, just no real idea what is good and what is not....

    I'd like to stay sync'd at around 10mb if possible, I don't live that far away from the exchange (about 2km max) so just wondering if it is my old router playing up?

    Do I need to manually play around with SNR bits and pieces etc?
     
  2. Swifty55

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Feb 2006

    Posts: 5,647

    Location: Home

  3. Dale

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Jan 2004

    Posts: 662

    Location: Sussex

    Many thanks Swifty, I'll take a read and give it a go first :)
     
  4. Swifty55

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Feb 2006

    Posts: 5,647

    Location: Home

    Np, usually a firmware upgrade/reinstall fixes most of Netgears modem problems.
     
  5. Yamahahahahaha

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Oct 2008

    Posts: 3,836

    Location: London

    If that doesn't work out, try the DGN3500 and put DD-WRT on it. Good bang / buck.
     
  6. Dale

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Jan 2004

    Posts: 662

    Location: Sussex

    Thanks for the advice chaps, updated with DGT, didn't make any difference as standard (apart from taking longer to connect) but when I lowered the SNR to 25% it connected at just over 9mb - can anyone offer advice on SNR etc and what settings I should concentrate on playing with on the DGT firmware? Can I go lower on the SNR, or is it not recommended?

    Many thanks again.

    EDIT: these are my current stats:

    ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
    Connection Speed 9044 kbps 1043 kbps
    Line Attenuation 42.5 db 22.7 db
    Noise Margin 5.2 db 4.8 db
     
    Last edited: 10 Jun 2010