1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Apple Keyboards F keys

Discussion in 'Apple Hardware' started by Founder_film, 19 Oct 2007.

  1. Founder_film

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Dec 2003

    Posts: 561

    Location: Bristol

    My girlfriend just bought herself one of the new wired Apple keyboards however I can't get the keys for Expose, dashboard, volume and music control to work. I seem to remember seeing something about how they don't work but I can't think where. I did a quick google but couldn't find anything. Am I being stupid? How can I get them to work?
     
  2. Beepcake

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,870

    Location: Cheshire

    Once the keyboard is connected if you do a Software Update it should install a keyboard update that enables the new keys.
     
  3. Founder_film

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Dec 2003

    Posts: 561

    Location: Bristol

    Ok cool, will give it a go. Thanks
     
  4. Slogan

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jun 2006

    Posts: 5,716

    Not honestly sure, but have you tried the 'fn' button along with whatever key you want?

    There's also a review on the keyboard at AppleInsider which goes into a bit more detail on the f keys. :)
     
  5. LordSplodge

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2004

    Posts: 16,028

    Location: 9th Inner Circle

    You need to do a software update to get the new keyboard drivers...
     
  6. Founder_film

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Dec 2003

    Posts: 561

    Location: Bristol

    Done done and done. Thanks guys.
     
  7. Beepcake

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,870

    Location: Cheshire

    Cool.. how are you finding the new keyboard? Tempted to get the wireless one myself for the living room.

    Is there an echo in here LordSplodge? :)
     
  8. LordSplodge

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2004

    Posts: 16,028

    Location: 9th Inner Circle

    I bow to your quick posting skills... ;)
     
  9. Slogan

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jun 2006

    Posts: 5,716

    Just plugged in my new keyboard (wired) and am having something of a nightmare with the caps lock.

    It feels like it is more of a 'press and click-in' type of button as opposed to every other key. I have to either stop, look and click it down pretty firmly or hammer it.

    Anybody had anything remotely similar in terms of the caps lock? Unsure if it's it or me - but think it'll be going back for good if it's the latter. :(
     
  10. Beepcake

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,870

    Location: Cheshire

    It's meant to be like that, it's designed to stop accidental caps lock but it seems to be a bit of a marmite feature. I think you can either press it harder or hold it down to turn it on and off.
     
  11. Slogan

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jun 2006

    Posts: 5,716

    I just had a quick look on Apple discussions and it seems you are spot on. With no way of turning it off either.

    Unbelievable. Totally breaks my typing pattern and it'll be going back. *shakes head at incredibly crap feature*
     
  12. Beepcake

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,870

    Location: Cheshire

    It might be tweakable from software at a later date.. did it work that way before the software update do you remember?
     
  13. Slogan

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jun 2006

    Posts: 5,716

    Yeah. I thought something was up with it - so went to software update and downloaded the new drivers. It prompted me for a restart so I thought it was must be significant enough to warrant that but it's still doing the same thing.

    Just a totally naff feature. Anyone who types little more more than 3 words an hour and can't control their fingers may think it's the best feature ever.
     
  14. EVH

    Don

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,201

    Location: Wales

    Caps lock is for n00bs.. use shift? ;)

    So you're saying it works like the delayed eject button on the Notebooks?
     
  15. Slogan

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jun 2006

    Posts: 5,716

    Pretty much the same ideology mate.

    I've been using shift for the past while and it's not so bad - but I sent some feedback off to Apple to see if they would sort it.

    It's just annoying and not needed. It seems like a feature added for someone who is unsure of a keyboard. A bit too mothering for my liking.
     
  16. cypriobrit

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Jun 2004

    Posts: 340

    Location: London

    Any idea if these will work with a PC (Windows)?
     
  17. Will_3rd

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Dec 2005

    Posts: 6,446

    Location: Reading, Berkshire

    Since I got my keyboard I've been converted to using Shift button for capitalization as were before I used the Caps Lock

    Yes, but not all the keys though. Probably would need to remap them with a third party tool like sharpkeys.
     
  18. bigredshark

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Jun 2005

    Posts: 9,516

    Location: London Town!

    I think there is a known issue with the dashboard and expose keys. Certainly my wired keyboard had problems with them, wireless one worked straight out of the box though...