1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New build advice - £600 - £700 budget Micro ATX

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Keeca, 26 Nov 2019.

  1. Keeca

    Associate

    Joined: 8 May 2019

    Posts: 11

    Evening all,

    Just needing a bit of advice from you lovely folks on a new build I've thrown together. Primarily it will be used for browsing with a side helping of gaming - WoW, Overwatch, Battlefield 5.

    Budget is between £600 - £700, though the lower the better with this one. Already have a PSU sat about for this (SuperFlower Leadex 80+ Gold 650w) but still need to chuck in a copy of Windows on top of the budget. They are wanting something small and have a need for WiFi due to where this will live in the house.

    How is this looking? Hoping to get this ordered in the next few days, so any suggestions on changes I can make to this would be awesome!

    Thanks in advance!

    My basket at Overclockers UK:
    Total: £690.17 (includes shipping: £12.30) ​
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  2. Alan1969

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Jun 2019

    Posts: 1,040

    Location: Leek staffordshire

    if you wish you could consider the ryzen 5 3600. I now have two and they are good. Ok they may not be as fast as the intel in some benchmarks but typically the benchmarks try to bottleneck the cpu by being at a low res of 1080 with a very powerful gpu (like a 2080). For you however a 3600 may not be the bottleneck but perhaps your gpu. A 3600 may become more powerful over the next few years as more software utilises more threads. my 3600 briefly uses all 12 threads but not at the same time - depends on the software (strangely world of warships seems to tax it more than total war warhammer 2 at times).
     
  3. Alan1969

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Jun 2019

    Posts: 1,040

    Location: Leek staffordshire

    you can get a key for windows 10 pro for £25 on the internet (download the media creation tool for free from microsoft and just use the key to validate it).
     
  4. Alan1969

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Jun 2019

    Posts: 1,040

    Location: Leek staffordshire

  5. snips86x

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Nov 2012

    Posts: 17,270

    Location: Close to Swindon, but not Swindon

    You really should consider AMD. That Intel will bottleneck and you'll be stuck with an unusable system. The 1151 platform is dead at this point and you'd be better off with something like this. It would also give you an upgrade to zen3.

    BB Code
    My basket at Overclockers UK:
    Total: £718.17 (includes shipping: £12.30) ​
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  6. Alan1969

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Jun 2019

    Posts: 1,040

    Location: Leek staffordshire

  7. Keeca

    Associate

    Joined: 8 May 2019

    Posts: 11

    Thanks guys. As far as future proofing goes then, the Ryzen 5 3600 is the way to go then it seems. Switching out the cooler to something a little cheaper will help with this too as the aim is to keep the build as cheap as possible, with the hope that this will last a few years without much need of any upgrades.
     
  8. SwiftEdge

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Aug 2004

    Posts: 9

    I'm looking at a similar build. Wondering why not go with the slightly more expensive motherboard:
    B450 GAMING PRO CARBON AC (Socket AM4) DDR4 ATX Motherboard £119.99
    which has built in ac wifi and bluetooth, rather than buying the Asus AC56 for £34.99 on top of the £98.99 B450 Tomahawk?
    Is the built in one not as good?
     
  9. snips86x

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Nov 2012

    Posts: 17,270

    Location: Close to Swindon, but not Swindon

    That board would need a bios update for the 3xxx series so a spare 2xxx cpu would (might?) be needed for the bios update
     
  10. Alan1969

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Jun 2019

    Posts: 1,040

    Location: Leek staffordshire

    the MAX mobo is already Ok for ryzen 3000's I believe.
     
  11. Danny75

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Aug 2013

    Posts: 8,056

    Two forum members have very recently purchased B450 Pro Carbons from OcUK and they were Ryzen 3000 ready. In any case, since they have BIOS Flashback feature, it can be updated without a CPU.
     
  12. Alan1969

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Jun 2019

    Posts: 1,040

    Location: Leek staffordshire

  13. Danny75

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Aug 2013

    Posts: 8,056

    The onboard is better (faster).


    The former is the dual band AC-9260 which the motherboard has, the latter is the max speed of the Asus PCE-A56. It's theoretical as it states, so might not always get that speed, plus every link in the chain (router etc) has to be equally fast obviously.