1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Build Check Please

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mysteryman, 3 Aug 2006.

  1. mysteryman

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Nov 2005

    Posts: 139

    Location: Hornchurch, Essex

    Can someone check the components below for my new build, this will be my first time build but i'm quite familiar with putting these things together. My question is will this be good for overclocking and gaming? Any things i forgotten or some components which ain't good?

    Intel Core 2 DUO E6600 "LGA775 Conroe" 2.40GHz (1066FSB) - Retail (CP-128-IN)
    £214.95 £214.95

    MB-061-GI Gigabyte GA_965P_DS3 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard (MB-061-GI)
    £87.95 £87.95

    MY-014-GS G.Skill 2GB DDR2 NR PC2-6400 (2x1GB) CAS5 Dual Channel Kit (F2-6400PHU2-2GBNR) (MY-014-GS)
    £106.95 £106.95

    GX-047-CO Connect3D ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512MB GDDR3 AVIVO TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (3056) (GX-047-CO)
    £194.95 £194.95

    HD-078-SE Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB ST3320620AS SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (HD-078-SE)
    £62.95 £62.95

    CD-035-NE NEC ND3550 16x16 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter (Black) - OEM (CD-035-NE)
    £19.95 £19.95

    HS-003-SY Scythe Ninja Plus Heatpipe CPU Cooler (Socket 478, 754, 939, 940, LGA755) (HS-003-SY)
    £26.95 £26.95

    SY-002-AR Artic Cooling Accelero X2 Cooler (X1800/X1900 Series) (SY-002-AR)
    £19.95 £19.95

    CA-054-LL Lian-Li PC-7 PLUS Black Aluminium Midi-Tower Case (No PSU) (CA-054-LL)
    £48.95 £48.95

    CA-008-TG Tagan TG530-U15 530W ATX2.01 Easycon SLi Compliant Modular Silent PSU (CA-008-TG)
    £61.95 £61.95

    Subtotal £845.50

    Shipping (City Link Parcel Next Day (Delivered Mon-Fri)) £10.95

    VAT £149.88

    Total £1,006.33
     
  2. fenderbass86

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,986

    Location: Chelmsford

    The G.Skill NR kit has problems with the DS3, get some Corsair 6400C5.
     
  3. mysteryman

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Nov 2005

    Posts: 139

    Location: Hornchurch, Essex

    So Corsair 6400C5 good to use if i'm gonna overclock? Should i change the DS3 motheboard for a different one or just change memory to corsair?
     
  4. fenderbass86

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,986

    Location: Chelmsford

    Just change the RAM to Corsair, that's exactly what i'm doing. I too was gonna get the G.Skill NR kit for the DS3, now i'm getting the Corsair C5.
     
  5. mysteryman

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Nov 2005

    Posts: 139

    Location: Hornchurch, Essex

    Hows the corsair C5 compare to the g.skill for overclocking?
     
  6. fenderbass86

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,986

    Location: Chelmsford

    Corsair is supposedly the best RAM out there, it's pretty good at everything. Not sure how it does against the G.Skill.
     
  7. mysteryman

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Nov 2005

    Posts: 139

    Location: Hornchurch, Essex

    Ok thanks. Changed to corsair ram. Anyone else suggestions? :D
     
  8. Tigjaw

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2005

    Posts: 659

    Location: West Midlands

    I'm pretty sure HZ Gskill 6400 works fine with DS3 but not NR.

    My computer has recognised 2Gb of Gskill HZ 6400 and I'm using DS3. HZ is also much better overclocker.
     
  9. quickfix

    Associate

    Joined: 27 May 2006

    Posts: 27

    *edit*
    Sorry, ignore that, upon further investigation my suggestion wasn't guaranteed to work, so better not risk it. Delete this, please.
     
    Last edited: 5 Aug 2006