Associate
Hi Everyone,

First time posting as I have been out the loop for a while in PC tech, trying to catch up with everything and thought it would be best to get input from people here.

I am a editor working mostly at production offices but with everything that has been going on I have been working at home for a while, now looking to upgrade my home PC.

I built my own PC many years ago:
i7-3930K
GTX 680 4GB
32GB Ram
512GB SSD Drive - OS
2x2TB Drive - Raid 0
1x1TB Drive - Cache
Noctua NF-F12PWM Case Fan 120 mm x 5

This has been a great PC over the years, but clients are now sending a lot of 4K through and I am getting tired of creating proxies for them.

I was hoping to build a new one that can handle 4K natively, with a budget of £1500, do you think this is doable? I will be taking the drives out the old PC to use in the new one so a full tower would be great as I will be creating raids out of the drives for faster media access. Redudancy is not a problem as I make daily and weekly backups on external drives, NAS storage and online cloud.

Any input would be great, I use Avid Media Composer, Adobe Suite, DaVinci Resolve. Clients are sending footage from Sony FS7, BMPCC 4K BRAW.

Associate
If you can wait a month 3900XT should be out for around same price as the 3900X.

Not sure if you'd want to go for a b550/x570 board so you have PCIe 4 support - imagine fast storage is important working with 4k videos.

Went for 2070S over an AMD card based on this:
https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/a...-Roundup-NVIDIA-SUPER-vs-AMD-RX-5700-XT-1563/

Build assumes you'll keep your case - new full towers seem quite expensive so would have to drop to a 2060S

My basket at Overclockers UK:
Total: £1,480.01 (includes shipping: £11.10)

Associate
OP
That seems like a great build. I did read that the next series of AMD and Nvidia GPUS are supposed to be coming on with some great increases.