1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

New GPU causes PC to stay on splash screen

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by WillDeBeast935, 15 Jan 2021.

  1. WillDeBeast935

    Associate

    Joined: 15 Jan 2021

    Posts: 9

    I just got a new GPU but when I installed it and turned on the PC, the splash screen stays on for a while, then I hear a short beep and it's still on the splash screen, then I hear a short beep again and the screen switches to a black screen with a blinking cursor and nothing happens after that.

    It says to press ESC to enter startup menu but that doesn't do anything. I've tried every button to enter BIOS but nothing works.

    When I use my old GPU or the integrated graphics, the PC works completely fine.

    I've seen a lot of people say "update BIOS" but I have a foxconn 2ABF which isn't a supported motherboard anymore.

    Can someone help?

    The specs are:
    CPU - i5-2400
    Motherboard - Foxconn 2ABF
    RAM - 8GB DDR3
    HDD - Seagate 500GB SATA
    PSU - HP 300W
    Old GPU - ATI Radeon HD 4300/4500 series
    New GPU - MSI GeForce GT 710
    Runs Windows 10
     
  2. VincentHanna

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2013

    Posts: 22,866

  3. henson0115

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Dec 2013

    Posts: 1,641

    Location: Nottingham

    pretty sure there is a legacy gop for this card (710), however you will likely have to contact MSI, EVGA used to offer a legacy gop for this card that you could use, but like i say you needed to contact them.

    you will also need to update the card in another pc so be prepared for that, if msi do offer this service. alternatively youd need to buy a card with legacy bios support as well as UEFU as Vincent mentioned
     
    Last edited: 15 Jan 2021
  4. WillDeBeast935

    Associate

    Joined: 15 Jan 2021

    Posts: 9

    So should I get a motherboard that is compatible?
     
  5. VincentHanna

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2013

    Posts: 22,866

    Or a complete new PC that isn't 10 years old?
     
  6. WillDeBeast935

    Associate

    Joined: 15 Jan 2021

    Posts: 9

    yeah obviously that's an option but I'm not trying to get a whole new PC that costs £500 - £800
     
  7. kristmace

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Dec 2010

    Posts: 1,372

    Location: W. Yorkshire

    What do you need the 710 for that the integrated gpu won't do?

    The solution could be an older but compatible card.
     
  8. WillDeBeast935

    Associate

    Joined: 15 Jan 2021

    Posts: 9

    There isn't an integrated GPU and I don't want to buy another GPU since i've just bought this one recently
     
  9. henson0115

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Dec 2013

    Posts: 1,641

    Location: Nottingham

    Can you not return it and just explain the issue 5heh might have other syou can try that 5hry will swap it for? Your kind out of options otherwise unless you contact msi
     
  10. WillDeBeast935

    Associate

    Joined: 15 Jan 2021

    Posts: 9

    If I do that then if I want to upgrade everything else I'll have a graphics card that can't run on up to date motherboards
     
  11. henson0115

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Dec 2013

    Posts: 1,641

    Location: Nottingham

    You can always backup the current bios and save it and retore later if needed. Besides with the legacy bios you can sti boot in legacy mode even on a new pc
     
  12. MagicBoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 17,404

    Location: South Manchester

    Motherboard is ancient, doesn't support UEFI. Upgrade to something that isn't 10 years old. ;)
     
  13. WillDeBeast935

    Associate

    Joined: 15 Jan 2021

    Posts: 9

    Yeah I'll just do that
     
  14. MagicBoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 17,404

    Location: South Manchester

    :cool:
     
  15. kristmace

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Dec 2010

    Posts: 1,372

    Location: W. Yorkshire

    It's not a bad shout. Look for a z77 motherboard. The i5 2500 will work fine in there. Under £30 is possible.
     
  16. kristmace

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Dec 2010

    Posts: 1,372

    Location: W. Yorkshire

    Your Op literally says there's integrated graphics.

    The 710 is a very basic card. What do you even need it for? Interested graphics in that processor should give OK performance.
     
  17. kristmace

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Dec 2010

    Posts: 1,372

    Location: W. Yorkshire

    Duplicate post...delete/ignore
     
  18. WillDeBeast935

    Associate

    Joined: 15 Jan 2021

    Posts: 9

    The integrated graphics isn't enough
     
  19. kristmace

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Dec 2010

    Posts: 1,372

    Location: W. Yorkshire

    Sorry to sound like a div... I'm genuinely trying to help...

    Not enough or what? Video editing? Gaming?

    The 710 is barely better than the integrated graphics.
     
  20. WillDeBeast935

    Associate

    Joined: 15 Jan 2021

    Posts: 9

    oh sorry I guess it would help to say it's for gaming. You say it's barely better than the integrated graphics but from my experience this graphics card will make quite a difference