New internet connection for rented house.

Associate
Hi,

Im a student moving into a rented accommodation in a month or so, and im looking at getting internet for me and my house mates, and then for my girlfriend and her housemates. However, I suddenly realise i have NO idea about internet and phone packages and prices.

Do i need to get a phone landline call package first before i can get a broadband package? I don't particularly want a phone/internet package, as im trying to avoid fair use traps, but at the same time i don't want to pay through the teeth for both phone and internet. What do i need to do to go about getting the internet in a house with no phoneline!?!?

Thanks for your help in advance.
John

Associate
yeah you will need a landline for adsl.

I would suggest a contract free isp so that you're not tied in and one which gives you free wireless router.

uswitch.com will compare for you and let you know which ones are avail in your area

Caporegime
uswitch.com will compare for you and let you know which ones are avail in your area

And claim a nice referral for their "trouble". Better looking somewhere like thinkbroadband, who aren't just pushing you towards the biggest kickback for themselves.

I would suggest a contract free isp so that you're not tied in and one which gives you free wireless router.

You won't get both, barring perhaps Be (but that means a 3 month contract and you've got to send the router back when you cancel).
I'd suggest coughing up the activation fee and buying a router, so you there's no minimum term and can get a decent router as opposed to the crap they give out.

There are a load of threads on this subject in the first couple of pages of this forum, take a look around for yourself. Posting some indication of your budget wouldn't be a bad idea as well - you won't get unlimited usage without parting with a good bit of cash, but the usage level you get generally varies with how much you pay.