1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Linux user help

Discussion in 'Linux & Open Source' started by squiffy, 24 Oct 2006.

  1. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    OK I've managed to install Ubuntu, and run the update.
    Detected all the hard drives (SATA & USB) but for the 320GB it says I don't have permissions :confused: Gone into Administration, Disks, partition and browse. I can browse the USB 2 hard drive. Both are NTFS.

    I have a few .RPM install files but when I double click on them nothing happens :confused:

    What is Automatix and how do I install that?
    I also have Alsa drivers which have been recommended by M-Audio.

    All this Kernal/scripting/re-compiling is too confusing. :confused: basically have to learn DOS like commands? :confused:

    I can't install Linux ATI GFX drivers, or playback AVI (need codecs?)
     
    Last edited: 24 Oct 2006
  2. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    RPM files are packages for some other systems, not Ubuntu. Ubuntu is based on Debian and, as such, you'll be looking for packages that are .deb files. Get familiar with synaptic as it is able to download, install, and configure most software automatically.

    http://www.getautomatix.com/wiki/index.php?title=Installation&Itemid=38 See the part called "Installing Automatix2 with Apt" You'll want the part for Dapper, not Edgy.

    It certainly doesn't hurt to learn the commands used at the command line. Linux, as a UNIX-like system, has an extremely powerful command line. Most tasks can be performed at the command line if you want to do so. It's important, IMO, to learn basic navigation and file manipulation with commands like cd, ls, pwd, etc.

    Use automatix to do that once you've followed the instructions linked above. It'll do all the dirty work in a matter of minutes.
     
    Last edited: 24 Oct 2006
  3. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    Trying to edit the sources.list file in ect\act but it says read only, I am not the owner. What the...I install it with single user, logged in as this :confused:
     
  4. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    are you using "sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list" as the command as the instructions direct you to do?

    EDIT: I'll explain why you need to. To modify system files like your sources.list file, you'll need to be a superuser. The username you use to log in is not a superuser by default. This is meant to protect you from accidentally breaking anything. To modify these files you'll need to become the superuser, or su. In order to execute a command as su, use sudo. Think of it as "Super User DO."
     
    Last edited: 24 Oct 2006
  5. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    ok thanks that's done. Installed another HD, no partition. I can't create a partition and format it :confused:

    So any progs with RPM I can't use? What about Slim Devices Slim Server? (very important)

    Automatix has done this. What do I do now? ah found it in "System Tools"



    [email protected]:~$ sudo geedit /etc/apt/sources.list
    Password:
    sudo: geedit: command not found
    [email protected]:~$ sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
    [email protected]:~$ wget http://www.getautomatix.com/apt/key.gpg.asc
    --04:49:50-- http://www.getautomatix.com/apt/key.gpg.asc
    => `key.gpg.asc'
    Resolving www.getautomatix.com... 82.165.193.29
    Connecting to www.getautomatix.com|82.165.193.29|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 1,730 (1.7K) [text/plain]

    100%[====================================>] 1,730 --.--K/s

    04:49:50 (419.32 KB/s) - `key.gpg.asc' saved [1730/1730]

    [email protected]:~$ gpg --import key.gpg.asc
    gpg: directory `/home/nathan/.gnupg' created
    gpg: new configuration file `/home/nathan/.gnupg/gpg.conf' created
    gpg: WARNING: options in `/home/nathan/.gnupg/gpg.conf' are not yet active during this run
    gpg: keyring `/home/nathan/.gnupg/secring.gpg' created
    gpg: keyring `/home/nathan/.gnupg/pubring.gpg' created
    gpg: /home/nathan/.gnupg/trustdb.gpg: trustdb created
    gpg: key 521A9C7C: public key "Justin Hayes (Automatix Repository Master) <[email protected]>" imported
    gpg: Total number processed: 1
    gpg: imported: 1
    [email protected]:~$ gpg --export --armor 521A9C7C | sudo apt-key add -
    OK
    [email protected]:~$ sudo apt-get update
    Get: 1 http://www.getautomatix.com dapper Release.gpg [189B]
    Get: 2 http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com dapper Release.gpg [189B]
    Get: 3 http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com dapper-updates Release.gpg [191B]
    Get: 4 http://security.ubuntu.com dapper-security Release.gpg [191B]
    Hit http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com dapper Release
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com dapper-security Release
    Get: 5 http://www.getautomatix.com dapper Release [5161B]
    Hit http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com dapper-updates Release
    Hit http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com dapper/main Packages
    Hit http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com dapper/restricted Packages
    Hit http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com dapper/main Sources
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com dapper-security/main Packages
    Hit http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com dapper/restricted Sources
    Hit http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com dapper-updates/main Packages
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com dapper-security/restricted Packages
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com dapper-security/main Sources
    Get: 6 http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com dapper-updates/restricted Packages [14B]
    Get: 7 http://www.getautomatix.com dapper/main Packages [435B]
    Hit http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com dapper-updates/main Sources
    Get: 8 http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com dapper-updates/restricted Sources [14B]
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com dapper-security/restricted Sources
    Fetched 5816B in 0s (7608B/s)
    Reading package lists... Done
    [email protected]:~$ sudo apt-get install automatix2
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree... Done
    The following NEW packages will be installed
    automatix2
    0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    Need to get 154kB of archives.
    After unpacking 0B of additional disk space will be used.
    Get: 1 http://www.getautomatix.com dapper/main automatix2 1.0-1.15-6.06dapper_amd64 [154kB]
    Fetched 154kB in 1s (89.7kB/s)
    Selecting previously deselected package automatix2.
    (Reading database ... 72105 files and directories currently installed.)
    Unpacking automatix2 (from .../automatix2_1.0-1.15-6.06dapper%5famd64_amd64.deb) ...
    Setting up automatix2 (1.0-1.15-6.06dapper_amd64) ...
     
    Last edited: 24 Oct 2006
  6. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    Have you run automatix2? Keep following the instructions on that page.

    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ automatix2
    You could also go to System Tools in the menu in the screen's top left corner.
     
    Last edited: 24 Oct 2006
  7. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    yeah done it, thanks. Found it in system tools. Now to try and get Slimserver and Myth TV installed.

    Getting around Linux isn't as easy as Windows. Can't figure out synatec package installer, imported the file and loads and loads of entries. :confused:
     
  8. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    What about it can't you figure out? Check the boxes next to the packages you want to install and press "Install" :confused:

    I don't see a near-universal repository system for Windows that downloads, installs, and configures software for you so I fail to see how it is comparable.
     
  9. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    There are dozens and dozens of entries :confused:

    I still need to use Slimserver
    http://www.slimdevices.com/su_downloads.html

    Is FFDSHOW available for Linux? (scaling software)
     
  10. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    Just start typing the name of the package you want and it'll sort it and take you to that entry.

    I don't know much about the software you're looking to use do somebody else might have to help you there.

    EDIT: I've had a quick look at the slim server. It seems you could go at this from two ways. You could use a command-line tool called alien to convert the .rpm onto a .deb that you could then install, or you could compile the perl source yourself.

    I'd start out with alien. First install alien via synaptic. Then type man alien to see the manual page for the alien command to see how to use it.

    EDIT2: FFDSHOW seems to only be available as a binary for Windows 32-bit. You could try to run that in WINE (install WINE with automatix) or else you will have to compile it yourself from source.
     
    Last edited: 24 Oct 2006
  11. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    I have no idea how to do that, I'm having enough problems as it is. Managed to get the 60GB to be seen and activated, but 320GB cannot be mounted/browsed. It has alot of data I need to access, I can recover it from DVD-R but talking couple of hours reading them in (would otherwise just format it)

    SPDIF soundcard isn't working, can't find any soundcard settings
    Also can't change videocard settings (refresh)
     
    Last edited: 24 Oct 2006
  12. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

  13. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    All of it.

    It's saying something about i386 "wrong archietucture" for the NTFS apps. Doing the same for ATI drivers.

    I don't care about Linux configurability, aren't there utilties which just do what I want it to do? Messing around with terminal, command line.

    Also how can I get it to auto login with username and password? Since this'll be a htpc I would rarely use the keyboard


    aaahh sod this going back to MC :rolleyes:
     
  14. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    I assume the wring architecture errors have something to do with the fact you're using a 64-bit system.

    If you don't feel like learning a new way of operating, go back to the platform you've used for probably 10+ years. It's understandable that you're more comfortable in Windows because you've probably got tens of thousands of hours experience with it and now you're probably getting close to having a half dozen hours experience with Ubuntu/Linux.

    Don't be afraid of the command line. It's the fastest and most efficient way of getting the vast majority of tasks done.
     
  15. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    Well digital out doesn't work, so linux is pretty much useless OS. M-Audio is seen under system devices, enabled ac-3 passthrough in media player thing, still nothing. Went into package and installed alsa things, still nothing.
     
  16. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    What's the specific model of sound card you have?
     
  17. Mr Potatohead

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Nov 2003

    Posts: 313

    Location: Aberdeen

    If it's an M-Audio Audiophile (or something similar, like one of the Delta cards), install alsa-tools-gui (from synaptic, which really isn't complicated in the slightest). Once that's done, press ALT-F2 and type "envy24control" in the box and press "Run". This brings up something which looks exactly like the windows mixer for the card. Set up your SPDIF from there.
     
  18. Hate

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,175

    Location: Sussex

    you can install RPMs on a Ubuntu machine with "alien"

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install alien
    this should hopefully convert the rpm into a deb for you.
     
  19. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    Gone back to MC. :) Until Linux is easier to use I'll stick to Windows.
    I grew up from MS-DOS 3.11, and gladly waved farewell to command line. I do have a 20GB so I'll try it out on that, hopefully once that's configured and working I'll consider that for the main OS.