1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Opty 146

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Ladforce, 28 Feb 2006.

  1. Ladforce

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Feb 2006

    Posts: 898

    Location: Fleet

    So I finally got round to replacing my ageing Opteron 146 CABNE 0545 with a brand new Opteron 146 CACJE O604 as the CABNE got stuck at 2.75. Booted this one up to 2.75 first time and then onto 3Ghz with only 1.45V. Havent got screenies yet but have run 3 hours prime and superpi 32m as ive only had it since this morning :) Will prime overnight and hopefully push this chip to 3.1 maybe 3.2 with a bit more voltage. Screenies to come.
     
  2. iraiguana

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Aug 2005

    Posts: 2,599

    wow thats a great oc right there! Good luck with the pushing it, and report back. nice one.
     
  3. deadeyedic30

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,545

    Location: Too Far from a good woman

    I currently have an Athlon 64 3500+ Winnie, and am wondering would it be better to get one of these and oc them or just get a dual core. My setup is 2gb of Geil Value ram, Epox 9NPA+SLI mobo with a Leadtek 7800GT, Hiper 480watt psu couple of hard drives and optical writers and an X-Fi.
     
    Last edited: 1 Mar 2006
  4. Jack Bauer

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 1,675

    Location: Oxford

    You said before you where get temperatures of 40C. Is that on air or water cooled. Was hoping to see a simlar OC but if you are using water....
     
  5. Ladforce

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Feb 2006

    Posts: 898

    Location: Fleet

    apex ultra water cooled. priming at the mo, should know by the morning if this is enough voltage. Prime crashed after 4 hours at 1.45 volts while i was at lectures which sucked i though it would be ok after passing 3 hours beforehand. Using 1.488 Volts at the moment. My motherboard temp probe is bugged it reads anything from 28 degrees under load to 48 under load. Cant be relied upon. An actual temp probe shoved under part of the waterblock reads 33 degrees under load so i imagine the actual reading is not far off this. Hope its stable at 3, fingers crossed.
     
  6. Jack Bauer

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 1,675

    Location: Oxford

    Will have mine in 30 mins. Could some one give me a rough idea of voltages before i start. cheers
     
  7. MikeTimbers

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,412

    Location: New Eltham, London

    Stay below 1.65v unless you're on water or phase.
     
  8. Jack Bauer

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 1,675

    Location: Oxford

    cheers
     
  9. DrMekon

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Dec 2005

    Posts: 601

    Got my Opty 146 CABNE 0545BPMW running at 2.8 on 1.4v.. great little clocker, but that one you got looks like a cracker!!
     
  10. Jack Bauer

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 1,675

    Location: Oxford

    Right...going start now. I want to benchmark my venice again first to see what improvement I get.
     
  11. Ladforce

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Feb 2006

    Posts: 898

    Location: Fleet

    [​IMG]

    ended up needing quite a bit more voltage to be stable. boots with 1.45 though but dies after about 4 hrs of prime. gonna see what it tops out at with 1.52 now though i dont think its got a lot of headroom though.