1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New PC help required

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Exentia, 11 May 2006.

  1. Exentia

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 5,630

    Location: Bristol

    Right finally got all the components for my new PC last night hooked it up but cannot get the thing to display on the monitor ,now im usinga 7900GT and the DVI to VGA adapter and after plugging a VGA cable into the adapter and the monitor im not getting any signal, now this is the first PC ive built so ive probably boned something up just a bit unsure what. Everything is connected up the PC actually powers up just cant get a display. Kit is:

    AMD 3800+ dual core with a freezer 64
    7900GT
    enermax 535w
    2 x seagate 80gb barracuda SATA drives
    DFI lanparty UT NF4 SLI-D

    any help will be appreciated.
     
  2. Viberious

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Jan 2003

    Posts: 1,496

    Location: Didcot, Oxfordshire

    Have you connected the graphics card power connector. Not sure on the board specifics - does it have any diagnostic led/light. Check the number against that in the motherboard manual.

    Things to check:-

    Any beeps from PC speaker
    Check ram is fitted correctly
    Check motherboard has both power connections in place
    Check graphics is correctly fitted
    Check CPU is fitted properly and has no bent pins
     
  3. Exentia

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 5,630

    Location: Bristol


    Molex is in the GFX card
    right no beeps
    ram is in and double checked.
    now when you say BOTH power connectors ive got the great big ATX one connected to the motherboard what other one is there?
    GFX is in properly
    was very careful with the CPU but will check tonight just to be sure.
     
  4. Monstermunch

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,597

    Location: Eating PI

    Also check to make sure the gfx card is seated correctly, IME this is the most common reason for this happening!
     
  5. Exentia

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 5,630

    Location: Bristol

    Ive had it out and in about 20 times it will not go into that slot any further believe me :p I just dont get it whats the basic stuff I need to have connected to get a picture....MOBO PSU GFX CPU RAM??? just want to rule out anything else causing problems.
     
  6. Monstermunch

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,597

    Location: Eating PI

    I believe with new systems there should be 3 connectors going to the mobo and 1 to the gfx card all directly from the PSU
     
  7. Vita

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Mar 2006

    Posts: 11,015

    Location: United Kingdom

    The other connector is the 4pin one to the motherboard from the PSU. Try looking at the BIOS maybe a problem there? :confused:
     
  8. Monstermunch

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,597

    Location: Eating PI

    HE CAN'T LOOK AT THE BIOS IF HE CAN'T SEE ANYTHING!

    Edit: Sorry didn't realise I had Caps Lock on!
     
  9. Exentia

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 5,630

    Location: Bristol

    GAH! it may be that, ive just had a thought and there is a 4 pin with nothing plugged in I know it. :o
     
  10. Exentia

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 5,630

    Location: Bristol

    It was that! it was the 4 pin molex (12v) connection on the MOBO wasnt in properly, cant believe i missed that! everything up and running fine now, just have a problem with my Logitech MX laser mouse now but ill start another thread for that.