1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Phone Woe..

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Tablets' started by SiHH, 18 Jan 2006.

  1. SiHH

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,020

    Location: Hemel Hempstead, Herts, U

    New Phone Woe.. (Another update included..)

    I have just bought a brand new phone (D600) off a popular auction site.

    It is branded to the Orange network and I have an O2 sim id like to use.

    Have taken it to a local market stall to get it unlocked but he says it has been totally locked as in reported lost/stolen ?

    Will Orange release this lock if i ring them or am i stuffed ?
     
    Last edited: 23 Jan 2006
  2. Dolph

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 47,845

    Location: Plymouth

    You're stuffed if the phone is blacklisted.

    Get back to the seller and ask him why he's selling either stolen goods, or goods that he should have returned to the network.
     
  3. SiHH

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,020

    Location: Hemel Hempstead, Herts, U

    Am going to ring orange but dont have a number where i can actually get through to someone.

    The numbers on there website require you to have an Orange listed mobile number.

    Help !
     
  4. Dolph

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 47,845

    Location: Plymouth

    07973 100 150, when it asks for a number, either wait on the line or press random keys and it should put you through
     
  5. SiHH

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,020

    Location: Hemel Hempstead, Herts, U

    Thanks I rang the number held on for a few mins then got the options needed to speak to an advisor.

    Thankyou.

    Well my phone hasnt been blacklisted so maybe the market stall guy didnt know what he was doing..
     
  6. gib786

    Banned

    Joined: 12 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,799

    Location: Leeds

    haha a lot of phone stall people have no idea about phones despite selling them and offering unlocking services. Its usually possible to unlock samsungs with a simple code, google for "gsm forum" and ask someone on there, they know all the codes and info needed
     
  7. SiHH

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,020

    Location: Hemel Hempstead, Herts, U

    Turns out I can only unlock and debrand using a cable which i have since ordered. Should be with me tomorrow.

    Pain in the proverbial but my fault for not investigating prior to the purchase of the phone.
     
  8. SiHH

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,020

    Location: Hemel Hempstead, Herts, U

    Finally got my phone unlocked and debranded and all i can say is WOW WHAT A PHONE !

    Me likes muchly !
     
  9. SiHH

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Mar 2004

    Posts: 3,020

    Location: Hemel Hempstead, Herts, U

    What a COMPLETE Idiot I am..


    So I have two phones all working fine - my new D600 and my crappy old Nokia for work.

    Carrying two phones around is a pain so I bought myself the following twin sim adapter http://www.mobilefun.co.uk/product/4989.htm

    Cut everything perfectly to size, put in the twin adapter into my phone and guess what - it didnt work...

    Great, so ill just put the sims back into some replacement holders they gave me with it so I can use it as i did before.

    My work sim fitted perfectly (thank god) so thats all working fine.

    My personal sim is a millionth of a millimeter (approx obviously lol) too small and will not fit in snugly to the holder.

    Am now without my 02 sim for a week while they send me a replacement.

    GRRRRRRRRR :mad:

    The moral of this story chaps is two fold:

    1) Dont use twin sim adapters.

    or

    2) if you are going to use one then buy the cutters !! http://www.mobilefun.co.uk/product/4990.htm


    /goes off to cry now. :(
     
  10. conuk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,390

    Location: Engerland :)

    lol - just been looking at the twin sim idea.... and google (my friend) send me to the twin sim thing....

    hmmmm £8 for an adaptor ... £30 for a sim cutter !?!?

    Anybody actually got these working properly in a W800 ???
     
  11. atpbx

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 21,452


    The moral should really be read the compatability list before ordering a twin sim adapter.

    As yours isnt listed as compatable.
     
  12. Airax

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Feb 2004

    Posts: 1,382

    Location: London

    My mates using on in his K750i, which is the same thing. Bit hard to get in and the cutting with sissors doesn't work. You need to use the twin SIM cutting tool really. Luckily there was one at work (I don't know why!). So Bingo. I still don't see the point of multiple SIM cards though....but hey!
     
  13. conuk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,390

    Location: Engerland :)


    yeah was just trying to get round how orange have skanked me outta my 250 texts a month! ... thought I was getting 120 mins 250 texts... apparently texts were for 6 months.... No way did the guy say this in the orange shop... and I cant find my contract to check ... my fault I guess... but left with 100 mins (that I dont use) and crappy 100 texts for £25 / month.... but now theres the FlexT option which is pretty amazing for the money.... just gotta find £125 to pay off orange now...

    sorry to hijack the thread - was just wondering about the Twin sim idea...