1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New RAM test and 3.0Ghz clock

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Dirk, 20 Jan 2006.

  1. Dirk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,930

    Bought a new 2GB kit to play with. Swapped out my Corsair XMS3500LL Pro TwinX for some Corsair XMS4000pt TwinX to get a 3Ghz+ o/clock on good air.

    Pictures paint a thousand words :D

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    The new RAM would do 270 1:1 @ 3,4,4,8 3.0v but i wanted 275+ to get 3Ghz so i ended up 254x12 for 3048Mhz.
     
  2. Arcane

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Aug 2005

    Posts: 3,647

    Location: Ealing, London

    Very nice!

    I've just rebuilt using an Expert and sd-FX55. Seems stable at 250x12, 1.52V, 3-3-3-8, 1T 2.8V. What's your idle/max load CPU temp in a case? I'm using the same cooler as you btw.
     
  3. Dirk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,930

    I saw 56c after 2 hrs of Prime which was a bit high for me. Backed down to 250x12 3000Mhz and now Max 53c Load, Max Idle 38c. Prime stable for 3 Hrs so far.

    LOAD:

    Pwmic 52c
    NF4 48c @ 4326 RPM
    CPU 53c @ 2410 RPM


    IDLE:

    Pwmic 39c
    NF4 42c @ 3068 RPM
    CPU 38 @ 1125 RPM
     
    Last edited: 20 Jan 2006
  4. Arcane

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Aug 2005

    Posts: 3,647

    Location: Ealing, London

    Cool, that's bang on the money with mine! Many Thanks.
     
  5. Dirk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,930

    Prime stable for over 12 hours @ 3048Mhz, backed down to 3000Mhz (250x12) for 24/7 settings. Not a bad days work :D

    Managed to benchmark at 3060Mhz, 1.6v, but couldn't Prime for long. Temps were getting too high at this point too. (56c CPU). Would want better cooling at this point to try more vcore.

    Running at 3000Mhz, 250x12 1.55v looks much better so i tried tighter timings on the RAM as 250 is it's stock speed. 3,3,3,7 benched but wouldn't prime so i upped the vdimm to 3.0v. This helped Prime for longer but it still failed.

    Using 3,4,3,7, 2.9v, Priming well now and Everest benches were the best i'd seen. This RAM is best running near stock speed using tighter timings and high vdimm.
     
    Last edited: 21 Jan 2006