1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

New server, replace 2 x Athlon MP's

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by 3dcandy, 31 Jul 2006.

  1. 3dcandy

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Jun 2003

    Posts: 4,370

    Location: Rugeley

    Right all,
    Time to upgrade my homeserver, it's chugging a bit.
    What does a nice x2 3800+ sound like to replace 2 x Athlon MP1600's???
    Pair it with 2 gig ram, and I reckon it would be great, I have an S939 AGP mobo already...

    And, then, on the same line, I could replace the other system with something along the lines of a PCI-E setup....

    mmmmm - would the x2 be much better, or would a proper dually setup be better?
     
  2. a1ex2001

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Mar 2005

    Posts: 13,907

    Location: Here and There...

    Whats wrong with your old server? seems a pretty decent spec to me?!? What are you doing with it? If it's just file sharing and/or some simple web stuff then keep your money a 3800 and 2 gig of ram is well overkill be better off with an old P3 to keep the electricity bill down!
     
  3. 3dcandy

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Jun 2003

    Posts: 4,370

    Location: Rugeley

    Hehehe
    Well, it's noisy because of the fans, the spec is ok, but I do a lot of video processing and it's getting a bit sllooowwww.
    BAsically, I can probably get a better performance from a single x2, just wondered if anyone agreed/disagreed??
     
  4. Kamakazie!

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Jan 2003

    Posts: 1,946

    i rekon it would be a good upgrade. You should be able to OC the 3800 if you wanted to aswell. They all seem to be reaching 2.4/2.5ghz easily on air.
    They are a bargain price at the moment too especially since you have the motherboard.
     
  5. 3dcandy

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Jun 2003

    Posts: 4,370

    Location: Rugeley

    Exactly...that's my point....
    Ok, I'm gonna go for it...

    cheers
     
  6. Gibbs

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Jun 2006

    Posts: 1,117

    Location: Belfast

    what you planing on doing with the 2 Athlon MPs and motherboards? Selling? Give me a price if so. :cool:
     
  7. lay-z-boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 9,231

    Location: Nantwich

    if you have a 939 mobo, pick up a 939 x2 or opteron.
    I think it will be considerably faster than the dual athlons.
     
  8. 3dcandy

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Jun 2003

    Posts: 4,370

    Location: Rugeley

    I will be selling....but after the new server is done!!!!
     
  9. ajgoodfellow

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Dec 2004

    Posts: 11,343

    Location: Shirley, Solihull, UK

    Yep - the X2 3800+ is basically two A64 3200+ cores, so each core will be about twice as fast as each MP1600+ (probably more so due to the superior architecture)
     
  10. Justintime

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 24 Jul 2006

    Posts: 8,869

    Location: Edmonton, London, UK

    Would'nt go as far as twice as fast per core, but it'd be a nice fat boost :D