1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Server / Storage PC

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by syke, 26 Mar 2006.

  1. syke

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Feb 2006

    Posts: 10,559

    Hey, we are thinking about sorting out PC's out..and getting rid of a few, so i was wondering.. for as cheap as possible a decent Storage/Server PC. Id prefer it to be as small as possible.. size wise etc.

    TIA
     
  2. fluiduk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,567

    Location: Manchester

    What about a mac mini with the external hard drive that sits under-neath it.

    Cant get much smaller and very scaleable, as you can add more and more of the hard drives.
     
  3. syke

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Feb 2006

    Posts: 10,559

    Sounds good.. Id also like it to run on the monitor of another PC (Like our server is atm) Id like to be able to store backups of all MP3's etc. So needs to have a huge HD. But i like the idea of the MAC.
     
  4. fluiduk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,567

    Location: Manchester

    Here some info on the lacie drive.

    http://www.123macmini.com/news/story/326.html

    Dont think the site is competition as you cant buy online from there. Please delete if it breaks the rules.

    We are getting one as a media server

    Aaron
     
  5. lloydsj

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 Jul 2004

    Posts: 553

    Im interested in this solution too.

    Is it possible to have the mac mini's set up so that you dont need a keyboard/mouse/and monitor attached when booting? I'd just want to have its drives mapped to my laptop, and be able to remote desktop connect to it occassionally.

    Also do the mac mini's have svideo output or similar. It would be good to set it up as a media server attached to a tv and hi-fi.
     
  6. mattio1980

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 480

    Location: south uk

    what about a 2tb hp proliant that should do ya lol
     
  7. reddeathdrinker

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,137

    Location: Surrey

    Or, if you want to go the PC route, look at something like a Shuttle or Biostar iDeq. Room inside for 2 hard drives (2*500GB SATA drives enough?), or 3 if you leave out the optical drive, and mount a 3rd drive in its place. Enough for 1.5 Terabytes, if that sort of thing floats your boat :D

    You can get them in all flavours of socket, from A, 478, 775, 738, 939......
     
  8. tang0

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jun 2003

    Posts: 3,804

    You wouldn't need to leave out the optical drive, you remove the floppy for 3rd hdd
     
  9. syke

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Feb 2006

    Posts: 10,559

    Id probably only need around 500GB or a bit more.