1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New smartphone.....

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Tablets' started by Howski, 8 May 2006.

  1. Howski

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 410

    Ok this is probably going to be in vain but here goes: I'm looking for a new smartphone on contract. Thing is I really like the Windows O/S so I'm looking for something that runs it idealy but if there is a decent phone running another O/S I'm not adverse to change. Anyway here is what I'm looking for:

    Smartphone on contract
    No more than £50 on a £25p/m contract
    Mp3 compatable
    About the same size as a C500
    Has to sync with Outlook
    Not on Orange or O2


    Thats about it really. The HTC Universal is just too big, but Im tempted by the samsung with the 3GB HDD which would be nice.
    Cheers
    -How.
     
  2. Kappa

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Aug 2003

    Posts: 6,330

    Location: Essex

    Vodafone V1240, Qtek 8310, I-Mate SP5...

    all the same, look good, c500 size, wifi, windows mobile, etc etc etc :)
     
  3. Howski

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 410

    Whats the build quality like on those? I must admit I've now had 2 HTC phones and I've had mixed thoughts about them. I've had a C500 and a E200 and they've run well for about 6 months and tended to fall apart after that. Mind you I dont think Orange helped by sending out duff replacements, on the E200 I had 9 replacements in the space of 2 months.

    I did have a peak at the Vodaphone web page but could not find that V1240 on it - might it have been replaced? Anyway I know it does not fit the specs exactly but that W900i caught my eye.

    Cheers anyway
    -How.
     
  4. Spamalot

    Soldato

    Joined: 25 Oct 2004

    Posts: 5,241

    Location: Cambridge

    Will have to get HTC from a dealer the other two networks dont do it direct, afaik. Is a great little phone, and much better in every way then the old HTC's. Would go for the W900i the only box that ticks for you is the MP3 part, and even that has only got around 500MB, poor imo. Oh, and its massive!
     
  5. Howski

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 410


    Well I thought those phones were made by HTC and rebranded just like the spv.

    At the moment I've only got a 256MB card in my phone and it does - just. How massive is it? I mean is it universal size?
    -How.
     
  6. Spamalot

    Soldato

    Joined: 25 Oct 2004

    Posts: 5,241

    Location: Cambridge

    Its also sold as the i-mate & qtec and sold with a network sim. And yes the W900i is large than you would have thought, larger than the S700i.
     
  7. Kappa

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Aug 2003

    Posts: 6,330

    Location: Essex

    Vodafone sell HTC products through their direct channel and the software branded.

    The Vodafone V1240 .... goto the vodafone website, click on business, and go from there.

    I dont see how it doesnt fit the bill, mp3 compatible, c500 size, sync with outlook, big sharp screen, and is a smartphone! If you didnt mind it not being c500 size, i'd say get the Qtek 9100, also on the business site.
     
  8. Howski

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 410


    It does and it's a very nice phone. Its just I clicked on the vodaphone shop link not the business and could not find it and while looking for it that Sony one caught my eye. As for the Qtec 9100 its the HTC universal so its way too big, my ex boss had one and although the its nice it was just way to big. Also I've heard they have big problems with the screen breaking in peoples pockets. Anyway I'm gonna look into contracts etc. Cheers for your help!
    -How.
     
  9. Kappa

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Aug 2003

    Posts: 6,330

    Location: Essex

    The Qtek 9100 isnt the HTC Universal (XDA Exec), Its the same as the HTC Wizard (XDA Mini S).
     
  10. Spamalot

    Soldato

    Joined: 25 Oct 2004

    Posts: 5,241

    Location: Cambridge

    The sony phone V600i is now old and was never that good, tbh.
     
  11. Spamalot

    Soldato

    Joined: 25 Oct 2004

    Posts: 5,241

    Location: Cambridge

    Wow thaats realy good, so I can get the V1240 for free on a £20 p/m with 200 free mins? How do I prove I want it for "business"?
     
  12. Kappa

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Aug 2003

    Posts: 6,330

    Location: Essex

    to get a businesstime contract you can be a normal consumer, you just pay VAT on top of the prices you see. It is possible to get the phones on normal priceplans like with stop the clock etc. Give the business customer services a ring, they seem to pump out better deals than the normal customer services. (I.E. Qtek 9100 350 mins 500 Text £40, now thats a normaly anytime tariff, but the business centre will give it to me on a 12 month contract instead of 18!)
     
  13. Spamalot

    Soldato

    Joined: 25 Oct 2004

    Posts: 5,241

    Location: Cambridge

    Ok, so if I order the V1240 on a business £20 p/m tariff then I will have to pay VAT on top? That still a great deal, phone free and the 200 mins for £20 (plus VAT) p/m on a 12 month contract.
     
  14. Howski

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 410

    Well Vodaphone told me today that the phone does not exist and is not avalable. Uh thats despite being on their web site!

    -How.
     
    Last edited: 10 May 2006
  15. Kappa

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Aug 2003

    Posts: 6,330

    Location: Essex

    O_o

    did you phone normal customer sales or the business team?

    The do know about the phone, i have phone them up about it before, TBH I find some customer service advisors know a lot less than i do, when that happens I just hang up and phone again and ask again :(