1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie Build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by SneakyWhale, 5 Mar 2010.

1. SneakyWhale

Associate

Hello All,

Im new here so if I am clueless at points I apologise!!

This will be my first build and iv been putting together a bit of a spec today and hoped to get peoples opinions!! Bit of background, never overclocked before but really want to have a go, im a university student (so reasonably low budget) studying CAD, building PC for "general usage" light gaming and CAD (solidworks, NX and AutoCAD if it makes a difference)

So here is my proposed spec, opinons will be really helpful!!

Case: Antec Two Hundred Midi Tower Gaming Case
    Mobo: MSI 770-C45
    CPU: AMD*PHENOM II X2 550 - BLACK EDITION
    GPU: Sapphire ATI Raedon HD4850
    CPU Cooler: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro v2
    PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 500W
    RAM: Kingston 4GB kit (2GBx2), DDR3 PC3-10600
    HDD: 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3

Any suggestions or opinions appreciated!!

2. Kurisu Makise

Mobster

could do 2x 500gb f3 in raid ?
    instead of just the one..

3. SneakyWhale

Associate

What are the advantages?? I am considering a Linux dual boot for this system as well, would 2 HDD in raid make that easier?

4. Kurisu Makise

Mobster

5. SneakyWhale

Associate

Hmmm think I would get worried about the risk of data loss especially running quite heavy programmes like solidworks

6. Kurisu Makise

Mobster

you would use raid 1 then so if one drive fails the other keeps goin with none of your data lost. :)

7. Wingers

Associate

but then he would have to buy 3 hard drives and my assumption is that he does not have this luxury being a student and all =P

8. TheGTeam

Associate

I like the idea of the antec 200 as it has the sata drive built in. Not sure if you have managed to find any reviews as i am after a case with a sata dock and can only find this and the new coolermaster case