1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newtwork cable

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by iBot, 15 Jun 2006.

  1. iBot

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 12 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,309

    Location: England

    300m Excel 4pair UTP cat5e

    Good cable for a home network?
     
  2. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    Perfectly fine.
     
  3. iBot

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 12 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,309

    Location: England

    excel a reputable brand? All I've done is crimped network cables and push wires in to patch panels at work. Never had to buy the cable myself.
     
  4. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    Never heard of the brand tbh (I always buy Krone), but if they're advertising it as 5e then it should be fine.
     
  5. Badger2003

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jul 2004

    Posts: 309

    Location: York

    Excel cable is fine - I know people that use it and never have any problems.

    It will work a treat.
     
  6. CF93

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 Jan 2005

    Posts: 967


    It's what I use. Whole house is kitted out and still got a LOT of cable left over.

    Your mates will be asking to wire up their houses before you know it!!

    Not actually been able to test it yet cause the house is still being refurbed. Should be finished next week though. Yay! :p

    Edit - if you're wiring into wall cavities etc, pick red (like me) or blue or sommat instead of plain white. Makes it MUCH easier to tell it apart from white phone cabling when you're setting it all out. Or even use it for the phone cabling too! Just make sure you buy labels to tell what goes where!
     
    Last edited: 16 Jun 2006
  7. mattreay

    Associate

    Joined: 9 Mar 2006

    Posts: 53

    Isn't the limit for Cat5e 150m?
     
  8. Trigger

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,822

    100m
     
  9. mattreay

    Associate

    Joined: 9 Mar 2006

    Posts: 53

    How are excel sellling a 300m cable?
     
  10. Andyt_uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Dec 2003

    Posts: 2,148

    Location: Malvern

    its about a 100m, but its easier when you've got lots of cabling to do to have a large box of it. During the last summer we used about 8 boxes of the stuff wiring up a school.
     
  11. mattreay

    Associate

    Joined: 9 Mar 2006

    Posts: 53

    Ah sorry guys, didn't read the post correctly. I thought he had bought one long 300m cable for one connection! lol
     
  12. Trigger

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,822

    Haha, I think the idea of a big box is so that you can cut it up into smaller sectons and to keep the cost down :D