1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NF7-S v2 + Barton 2500+??

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Cyber-Mav, 5 Feb 2006.

  1. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,430

    Location: Midlands

    hi all, wierd problem im getting when trying to overclock this barton cpu. i keep running into memory errors at anything above 190fsb. im using corsair xms 3200LL and even tried a stick of ballistix and its still hitting a wall at the 190fsb mark.
    i tried all the normal stuff like put up the vcore, vdd, vdimm, timings etc but no luck. then i tried my mobile xp cpu in this nf7-s board and weird thing is that 200fsb works fine at 2-2-2-11 timings?

    the barton 2500+ is currently back in the nf7-s v2 at 186 x 11 and vcore is at 1.625v. this barton seems to be a good overclocker but its odd that my mobile cpu works fine at 200fsb and no memory errors yet the desktop barton 2500+ is erroring in memory tests at 190fsb using the same ram??

    how can this be? :confused: :confused:
     
  2. The_TailGunner

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Oct 2003

    Posts: 1,894

    Location: Dublin

    try chucking max voltage thru the chipset. i had similar errors and it sorted it for me.

    think its 1.7v?. runs fine on standard cooling or the zalman northbridge cooler

    TG
     
  3. BS Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2004

    Posts: 3,386

    Location: London

    it's simply that the desktop is 166 fsb.
     
  4. marc2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 20,206

    Location: England

    considering the barton's stock vcorce is 1.65 you're doing well to get 186 with less volts.... :p

    now try with 1.65 or a bit more....
     
  5. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,430

    Location: Midlands

    yes i have tried all that as mentioned in my first post, i fiddled with all the voltages with still no avail. vcore to 1.9v, vdd to 1.7, vdimm to 2.9 and still no luck.
    been reading around a bit and found something about cutting the L12 bridge to make the cpu show up as a 133fsb.
    not sure what to do so i guess i will stick to 186mhz (shows up in windows cpu-z as 187mhz). not bad considering its running undervolted. may try and fiddle with this pc to make it a silent runner.

    any idea of those passive zalman northbridge heatsinks are good enough to acutally run passive?
     
  6. mp260767

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2003

    Posts: 10,866

    Location: telford, shropshire

    zalman wil be ok long as case cooling is adequate.

    try slackening the memory timings if you havent already.

    the l12 trick as far as im aware was mainly for the 2500-mobile processors, may well be wrong of course, also thought it was used to raise the fsb to 166 so the overclock to 200 fsb was less and placed less load on the overclock.

    have you got agp/pci locked ?
     
  7. fragster

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Dec 2003

    Posts: 307

    Location: Essex

    1.9 vcore? :|