1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NOD32 Users.

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by slipd, 4 Mar 2006.

  1. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,390

    Location: Hampshire

    Hi guys,

    I've only been with NOD for about 2 weeks so I'm still getting use to it ;)

    I ran In-Depth-Analysis earlier and i got a bit concerened about the 4 errors in blue?

    [​IMG]

    Is that a problem? Disk problem perhaps :rolleyes:

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.

    SW.
     
  2. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,952

    Location: LU7

    Yeah MBR stands for Master Boot Record, deffo some disk problem there. Maybe try a CHKDSK and see what that reports.
     
  3. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,390

    Location: Hampshire

    Thanks for the reply - chkdsk on C:\ I take it?

    Cheers,

    SW.
     
  4. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,952

    Location: LU7

  5. Rednut05

    Banned

    Joined: 1 Aug 2005

    Posts: 909

    MBR = Master Boot Record. In use when you boot up your computer.

    Are you scanning the system under a limited user account? Therefore you have no access to the MBR.

    Run a scandisk with both boxes ticket. So it'll run when you restart. If all runs okay then your MBK is okay?
     
  6. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,390

    Location: Hampshire

    I ran chkdsk /f and that went okay? No problems or bad sectors - could the problem be on another disk?

    SW.
     
  7. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,952

    Location: LU7

    Could be, doubt it though. Tried a Scandisk?
     
  8. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,390

    Location: Hampshire

    Um, where is Scandisk... I probably should know... :(

    Cheers,

    SW.
     
  9. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,952

    Location: LU7

    Think you want to run Explorer, right click on whatever drive you want to scan. Go to the Tools tab and run the Error checking tool. Not sure if that is Scandisk per se but try it anyway.
     
  10. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,390

    Location: Hampshire

    Yeah I've tried all that now - it took ages :rolleyes:

    Just tried the NOD32 scan again and the errors are still there :(

    SW.
     
  11. Fireburst

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Feb 2006

    Posts: 64

    It could be a problem with NOD32. I assume your system isn't displaying any problems?
     
  12. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,390

    Location: Hampshire

    Would it matter that I'm using a RAID0 array?

    I really can't think what else it could be? The drive/s seem fine in all the tests?

    SW.
     
  13. Cuchulain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Dec 2004

    Posts: 7,627

    Location: Derry

    I've had to give up on NOD32 after using it for a few months, every so often Dreamweaver would throw an "out of memory error" after a bit of digging it turned out it was clashing with one of the nod32 components, haven't had a single error since I uninstalled it. Unfortunately i'm now left with no AV software, I can't stick AVG, Avast is fairly useless, I'm not touching Norton or McAfee with anyone's pole so I have no idea what to go for :(
     
  14. Fireburst

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Feb 2006

    Posts: 64

    I have used AVG for the last 3 years and it hasn't let me down.
     
  15. Charlie Bravo

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,598

    Location: Chelmsford

    Now install NOD32 or Kaspersky and tell us the same thing. I scanned a mates HDD once and found 126 viruses. He was using AVG with 'no problems'.
     
  16. The_blue

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,186

    Location: Derbyshire


    thats why i moved to nod :(
     
  17. Fireburst

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Feb 2006

    Posts: 64

    Hmm I have just tried Kaspersky trial and i'm clean as a whistle. I am not sure how your friend managed to get 120+ virus on his system without even a twitch from AVG.

    AVG's weak spot used to be trojans but as I understand it has been much better for the past 18 months since the move up to the latest version.

    It also depends upon the users surfing habits. If the user agrees to every popup that appear then it matters not how good the AV is, he will get stung.
     
    Last edited: 5 Mar 2006
  18. Aliboy

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Jan 2004

    Posts: 3,201

    Here is a copy of an email that I sent Esset about why I was getting these errors also .....

    I wrote ...

    Can you please tell me why some text appears in blue when I am scanning
    my rig? It usually says something along the lines of 'error opening
    (file locked)4!

    Any info you can give me on this would be much appreciated.

    Many thanks

    Al


    Their response was ....

    These are invariably system files which are in use by Windows, and
    therefore cannot be accessed by another program (including anti-virus
    software). This is quite normal and thus nothing to worry about, as the
    fact that these files are locked means that a virus could not infect
    them either.

    Kind regards
    Dan Wills
    Technical Support Engineer
    Aspect Systems

    I hope this puts your mind at ease :D