1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nod32 vs Avast

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by mightynimrod, 18 Jan 2006.

  1. mightynimrod

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Jan 2003

    Posts: 4,259

    Location: Notts J27 M1

    Anyone used both of these?

    Just wondering if Avast is better or not?

    I currently use Nod32
     
  2. Cuchulain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Dec 2004

    Posts: 7,589

    Location: Derry

    I use NOD32, I used to use Avast but it didn't seem to pick up some of the stuff that NOD32 did after running a scan straight after I swapped, Avast also seems to hog more resources.
     
  3. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 23,835

    However NOD32 can be a bit over-keen on what it picks up as viruses, so you might get the odd false positive.
     
  4. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,901

    Location: LU7

    I've used both, the free version of Avast and paid NOD32. I much prefer NOD32. I can set it to be silent, so much so that I'm not sure if it gets the AV updates; I never see a dialog box or anything to show that is is. Avast on the otherhand has a dialog box when it updates. You may prefer that but I don't.

    Another thing I don't like about Avast is that when I get sent a file over MSN by a mate Avast loads up the scan tool and some help box, neither of which I need/want. NOD32 never does anything like that.

    I use Avast on my laptop at home and use NOD32 on my desktop at Uni.
     
  5. AJUK

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Nov 2003

    Posts: 10,949

    I switched to Avast after NOD32 missed a virus. Works both ways it seems. :)

    Both are excellent so it doesn't really matter which one you choose.
     
  6. mightynimrod

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Jan 2003

    Posts: 4,259

    Location: Notts J27 M1

    I'll stick with Nod32 then fellas.

    Thanks for the info :D
     
  7. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,448

    Location: Manchester

    You should get a balloon in your taskbar when NOD32 updates. So unless you happen to be looking at your taskbar for the 5 seconds the balloon is there you could very well miss it.

    Of course, if you are ever unsure, just do a manual update :)

    SiriusB
     
  8. vince3

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Jun 2005

    Posts: 292

    Location: Hampshire

  9. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,901

    Location: LU7

    I do sometimes run a manual update, just to check, and it never has to update when I prompt it to! I just love NOD32. Easiest prog I have ever used.
     
  10. Duke

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 29 Jun 2003

    Posts: 33,452

    Location: Wiltshire

    Used Avast on my uncles pc but it seemed to slow it down a lot, so bought nod32 and it was quicker again.
     
  11. mrk

    Man of Terrible Jokes

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 85,961

    Location: South Coast


    you do realise both those "annoyances" can be disabled? *** first can be done via setting a default custom option in the programs options and the second by disabling the "messenger" resident shield.
     
  12. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,901

    Location: LU7

    No I didn't. Thanks mrk. I've just switched to AVG and it seems better for me. Wouldn't have thought disabling Avast's Messenger shield would be a good idea. Don't quite a few online threats affect MSN? I.e. files that your mate seems to be sending you but isn't and it is actually some trojan or something?