1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

** NOW EVERYONE CAN ENJOY PCI-E NVMe/AHCI SSD's!! **

Discussion in 'Latest News, Deals & Special Offers' started by Gibbo, 20 Nov 2015.

  1. sunlitsix

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2004

    Posts: 11,028

    Location: Stoke on Trent


    I've done abit of digging as I'm on a Z77 chipset...

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1571271/tutorial-how-to-add-nvme-support-on-any-ami-uefi-bios-with-an-intel-chipset


    Supposedly modifiable so any Intel chipset can boot the NVMe drives.
     
  2. makavien478

    Associate

    Joined: 4 Jul 2014

    Posts: 28

    Yes free speech and all that and I do shop else ware I'm not a ocuk zombie and ive been with ocuk since it was originally started with spie many many moons ago
     
  3. JediFragger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,583

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Sorry but that doesn't exist here. Read the rules ;)
     
  4. abui1806

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Mar 2014

    Posts: 1,130

    Location: Southampton

    did he mention any name?
    from my perspective, he was just disagree on a statement which is a perfectly normal thing to do.
     
  5. sunlitsix

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2004

    Posts: 11,028

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    Anyway... an update on my finds if anyone cares :p

    What I've done is :

    Followed this tutorial to modify the latest BIOS for my Z77 motherboard. By default the Z77 chipset doesn't support booting from PCI-E/NVMe drives.
    Flashed it to the board.
    Set to UEFI not legacy.
    It's abit sketchy, but the device doesn't appear in the BIOS. IT does get detected though.
    Installed Windows 10 with no issues. GPT.
    On reboot the drive is now detected under boot selection, but still not in the BIOS. Works just fine though!

    The said tutorial supposedly works from Intel chipsets 6 series and above.

    TLDR

    I've modified a BIOS for my Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH and after some (alot) of tinkering with BIOS settings I've successfully installed Windows 10 and can boot from the NVMe device. Christ it's quick. :cool: Runs toasty though!
     
    Last edited: 21 Nov 2015
  6. TheVoice

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Aug 2005

    Posts: 21,635

    Location: Glasgow

    It was more the attitude than anything.
     
  7. makavien478

    Associate

    Joined: 4 Jul 2014

    Posts: 28

    Yes I no jedifragger as I said been browseing site since it first began as you were.
    Ive noticed many many loyal memmbers gone over the time for having a opinion ocuk didn't like
     
  8. Clairvoyant

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,140

    Location: Torbay, Devon, UK

    I have a Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH so it would be interesting to see if your boot with a stock bios.
     
  9. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 34,017

    Location: OcUK HQ

    Still here ain't you? :)

    The forums have become far more relaxed over the years and even though the company has grown vastly and is now part of much larger group which spans the globe OcUK has remained OcUK just more polished and only gets better. :)
     
    Last edited: 21 Nov 2015
  10. cactusweasel

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Jun 2009

    Posts: 440

    Location: Inverness

    But you choose to ignore the fact you claim to have the best pricing, yet you have been told that you really don't. Selective responses for comments only. This is where the lack of belief comes in. Seems that you guys only want to push and promote "group brands" which I presume make you guys the most profit instead of the "best" products now. This is why you are losing out on customer support now.

    You only have to look at your PC systems range, and its just full of "group brands" cases is a clear example. Why do you insist of offering only Kolink, Bitfenix, etc... what happened to offering full choice of brands... oh wait I know... sold out to the big corporation ethos.
     
  11. BigBruiserAl

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Sep 2008

    Posts: 3,319

    Location: Co. Durham

    This is what drove me to shop elsewhere, ocuk can see my history and activity, I would be happy with " sorry guys no further discount for now" but the creative claims like 1st to market or cheapest price when sorry none of them were true just made go else where. I still lurk mind hoping it will get back on track :p
     
  12. Troezar

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Aug 2009

    Posts: 4,730

    Certainly hard to differentiate yourself these days. Selling identical products on the internet with search engines showing you everyone's prices. Customer service is about all a company has, how much of a price premium is that worth, 5%, 10% more?

    OCUK are my preferred supplier but the price has to be very close, for me that's a max of a 5% premium.
     
  13. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 34,017

    Location: OcUK HQ


    SSD pricing on the 951's my error they were on weekly offer but when I posted the offers had ended and the prices gone back up. I'll get them back on weekly offer next week.

    We don't limit the case options on systems:
    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/ocuk-tech-labs-skylake-z170-pro-gaming-pc-configurator-fs-004-tl.html

    One could also flip it around and also say that OcUK actually gives you the most choice of brands I don't think anyone has an in stock range of so many different case, graphics cards, memory brands such as OcUK does. One of our competitors only sells Corsair memory, we sell most of the memory brands. We even listen to our customers and have phased in brands at request, G.Skill springs to mind in the past.

    Please let me know which current best brands and or products OcUK is not stocking and I will look into it or let you know why we choose not to list it. :)
     
  14. sunlitsix

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2004

    Posts: 11,028

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    Well I put a stock BIOS back on and no luck, doesn't detect the drive at all. Even with a Win 10 install on it nothing. I find it really interesting that inserting 3 bits from a Z97 BIOS enables the feature in previous chipsets though...

    With the modified BIOS :

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Great upgrade, a stupidly fast drive, may even copy GTA V onto it to see if it makes a difference in loading :p

    Abit annoying knowing that it will be cheaper in afew days though... ;)
     
  15. cactusweasel

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Jun 2009

    Posts: 440

    Location: Inverness

  16. Uther

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Jun 2005

    Posts: 15,104

    Logitech wheels? Surely the G29/ G920 would be pretty good sellers? The equivalent Thrustmaster which you stock (300 TRS) doesn't get a great press for reliability, nor does TM customer support.
     
    Last edited: 22 Nov 2015
  17. freddie64

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Mar 2008

    Posts: 3,180

    Just modded my bios file (MVG) using that guide.

    Had a check in MMTOOL4 and The 3 NVME modules are inserted.

    [​IMG]

    If the bios update fails, is it easy to revert to my original bios?

    Will get me one these drives for Xmas and have a tinker if the bios works. ;)

    Also how hot does it run and do you have to have any cooling for it?
     
    Last edited: 22 Nov 2015
  18. Rab

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Oct 2005

    Posts: 939

    Location: Scotland

    @sunlitsix, good find, have a z77 board as well, still runs well with my 2600k.
    bios easy to modify?
    is speed really noticeable over ssd ?
     
  19. Troezar

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Aug 2009

    Posts: 4,730

    I guess no one had tried this on a P67 board yet?
     
  20. ademcg

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Jul 2005

    Posts: 2,081

    Location: Warrington

    tinkering with bios worries me a little....especially on the P68 Asrock :/