1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NTL Cable - What download speed should 1Mb cable give me?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Minstadave, 2 Aug 2006.

  1. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,281

    Location: Rutland

    Just sorted my new NTL cable account out with a hugely expensive phonecall to tech support (they'd messed up on their end) and was wondering what kind of download speeds I should be seeing with 1Mb cable.

    Currently I'm getting OVER 1MB per second downloads which doesn't make much sense to me? :confused:
     
  2. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    You mean you're getting 8Mbps (ie 1 megabyte a second) out of a connection that's meant to be 1Mbps?
     
  3. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,281

    Location: Rutland

    Yes my connection is 1Mbps NTL cable, but downloads are topping 1 megabyte per second, which is why I'm confused, but certainly not complaining :D
     
  4. ste_bla

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 Aug 2004

    Posts: 7,794

    Location: Milton Keynes

    over 1MB a sec means surely your on the 10mb plan?
     
  5. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,281

    Location: Rutland

    I only signed up for 1Mb, I'll see what my bill comes in as at the end of the month :D

    Edit:

    Just tried a few more downloads, all are above 1 megabyte per second:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 2 Aug 2006
  6. Richdog

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Sep 2005

    Posts: 26,354

    Location: Utopia

    I hate you. :eek:

    Sure you didn't sign up to the 10MB and kind of miss seeing the 0 on the end? :D
     
  7. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,281

    Location: Rutland

    I'm 100% sure, I had the GF watching to make sure I didn't tack on any extras :D
     
  8. Phemo

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 May 2004

    Posts: 5,573

    Location: Portsmouth

    Very strange. You should be getting 120KB/sec - it seems they've put you on 10mbit by accident.

    What cable modem do you have? I'm guessing it's an ntl 250. Log into the modem's interface by going to http://192.168.100.1 and using the default login and pass of root and root then go to Operation Configuration. I have the 10mbit service and my figures are:

    Maximum Downstream Data Rate : 10240000
    Maximum Upstream Data Rate : 512000

    If yours are the same then you're on 10mbit :) It's obviously going to report that seeing as you're getting those speeds but at least it'll confirm your modem has the 10mbit config file. Just hope they carry on billing you for 1mbit.
     
    Last edited: 2 Aug 2006
  9. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,281

    Location: Rutland

    [​IMG]

    Score :D
     
    Last edited: 2 Aug 2006
  10. KizZ

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 5,235

    Location: Lincoln

    You lucky sod :eek: :D
     
  11. Imy

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Nov 2005

    Posts: 2,771

    Location: Nuneaton, UK

    During uni, I came back home for the summer and got NTL cable installed for a few months.

    They never billed me for it. They never reclaimed their cable modem.

    Best of all....

    When I tried to get reconnected the following year they would not believe me when I said I already had NTL lines installed.