1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

ntune or something else?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by frustin, 10 Oct 2009.

  1. frustin

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Oct 2002

    Posts: 587

    Has ntune been superseeded by some other app for overclocking? i have a 8800GTX that need oc'ing.
     
  2. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2007

    Posts: 18,273

    Location: North West

  3. Bozebo

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Oct 2008

    Posts: 353

    Location: Dundee

    ntune causes many problems. especially if you have an nVidia chipset.
    try rivatuner. evga precision is also good, as mentioned by raven
     
  4. frustin

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Oct 2002

    Posts: 587

    thanks.

    i found rivatuner a bit of a faff to use. not very user friendly imo.
     
  5. Bozebo

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Oct 2008

    Posts: 353

    Location: Dundee

    agreed. Gives a lot of other good options though if you ever need them.
     
  6. frustin

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Oct 2002

    Posts: 587

    why is the "test" button greyed out?

    says here that "The "Test" button unfortunately is not supported on all graphics cards, this button is used as a helper for the cards that do support the "Test" function."

    I have a 8800GTX generic.
     
    Last edited: 10 Oct 2009
  7. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2007

    Posts: 18,273

    Location: North West

    Always been grayed out, just use games to test your stability.
     
  8. queamin

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Nov 2005

    Posts: 3,509

    I use evga precision and ntune was bad for me it was hardly ever stable