1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

NVIDIA ‘Ampere’ 8nm Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by LoadsaMoney, 4 Oct 2019.

  1. iSaff

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Apr 2017

    Posts: 147

    144hz.
     
  2. Jimmy Weirdarms

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Aug 2017

    Posts: 986

    I don't think you're going to need "the most expensive ampere" to get high refresh at 1080p, somehow, given you can already do that with Turing...
     
  3. Dirk Diggler

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jan 2013

    Posts: 16,394

    I don't believe there is any difference between [email protected] and [email protected] You're pushing the same frames, therefore the CPU has the same work to do. There's a misconception that higher resolution is less taxing on the CPU, but that's only because a) higher resolution is generally lower refresh & b) you're generally GPU limited at higher resolution therefore not running at the maximum refresh.

    Edit: Just to be clear, Ampere is likely to push 1440 closer to 144hz therefore a bottleneck is likely if the CPU is weak.
     
  4. Dirk Diggler

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jan 2013

    Posts: 16,394

    It's the CPU he's concerned about, not the GPU.
     
  5. iSaff

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Apr 2017

    Posts: 147

    So, presumably, a 1700 at 3.8ghz should be fine with a higher end GPU in gaming and Davinci Resolve, the GPU should be taking up the extra slack on modern titles and editing software, at least to the extent that there shouldn't be any major differences in gaming or even editing. As I said, I do plan to eventually upgrade to 4000 series at some point next year.
     
  6. Mensy

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Oct 2015

    Posts: 518

    Im bored of waiting even tho i have absolutely no games to play on at the moment, i still want it now lol
     
  7. Dirk Diggler

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jan 2013

    Posts: 16,394

    I couldn't be sure, can't you test with your current system and see how the CPU copes? Drop the settings right down to lowest in your game and disable Vsync, see if the CPU can push the GPU all the way to 144Hz.
     
  8. Jimmy Weirdarms

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Aug 2017

    Posts: 986

    Right, but the conversation goes -
    "A 3700X will bottleneck a high end Ampere at 1080p"
    "But why run the biggest ampere at 1080p?"
    "Refresh rate"

    I was pointing out that even if you were aiming for a high refresh rate at 1080p, you're unlikely to need a "big" ampere, and by deduction from there the 3700X isn't really going to be a realistic bottleneck.

    I'm actually kind-of amazed at the original comment - in what world is one of the current best processors on the market going to be a bottleneck ?
     
  9. kazuya1337

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Apr 2014

    Posts: 598

    You don't need a Ampere to run 1080p on Ultra @ 144hz, A 2080s/2080Ti even a 1080Ti would accomplish that
     
  10. Dirk Diggler

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jan 2013

    Posts: 16,394

    The original comment from Grim was theoretical to emphasise that there are factors involved with a bottleneck, it's not a given that CPU "a" will bottleneck GPU "b". That's why you see CPU benchmarks at 720p.

    Yes, it's unlikely that you'd need massive GPU power for 1080p gaming, even at higher refresh. But that's not what the guy is querying; he's already decided to buy top end Ampere and he's concerned his 1700 will bottleneck it.
     
  11. deuse

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Jul 2007

    Posts: 22,781

    Location: Solihull-Florida

    Since it looks like the 3080 Ti will be over £1,000.
    I'm going to keep what I have and buy a something else.
     
  12. Dirk Diggler

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jan 2013

    Posts: 16,394

    I'm not sure a 1080ti could hold 144hz with ultra settings. It's surprisingly taxing on the GPU even at that resolution. I'm sure I tested Firestrike previously with a 1080ti/6700k setup and the GPU couldn't keep up at 144.

    Edit to add: even a 2080ti can struggle for 144 in AAA games.

    https://www.techpowerup.com/review/...er-benchmark-test-performance-analysis/4.html

    https://www.techpowerup.com/review/kingdom-come-deliverance-benchmark-performance-test/4.html

    https://www.guru3d.com/articles_pag..._graphics_performance_benchmark_review,6.html
     
    Last edited: 28 Jul 2020
  13. iSaff

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Apr 2017

    Posts: 147

    That's a very good idea. Thanks Dirk, I'll give that a go. Much appreciated.
     
  14. bru

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,328

    Location: kent

    Say what........?
    Your not pushing the same anything, each 1080p frame is 2 ,076,300 pixels.
    1440p frame is 3,686,400 pixels.

    Effectively slightly under twice the work each frame.
    If you don't believe their is any difference, then I would suggest you go read up on it a bit.;)
     
  15. Dirk Diggler

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jan 2013

    Posts: 16,394

    We're talking about CPU work load, not GPU work load. ;)
     
  16. kazuya1337

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Apr 2014

    Posts: 598

    Well your not going to bottle neck your CPU if your GPU is maxed
     
  17. Dirk Diggler

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jan 2013

    Posts: 16,394

    Cool, let us know how you get on. I'd be interested to know how your 1700 copes with the games you throw at it. :)
     
  18. Jacky60

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Jan 2010

    Posts: 1,284

    Location: Earth

    Yep and that's at today's AAA games/Ultra settings. We'll soon see higher end cards struggling at this resolution with RT if Nvidia/AMD don't stop drip feeding performance improvements from an eye dropper.
     
  19. smogsy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 Dec 2006

    Posts: 8,209

    Location: @ManCave

    the sad thing is lot of people say a 1080TI can do 144hz at 1080p and there right if you want 144FPS every 30 minutes or so.
    • Hitting 144FPS & maintaining 144FPS are two different things
    • can you say your taking advantage of your 144hz monitor with a 1080Ti yes in some games you can Rocket league for example. but AAA No.
      (if you exclude Doom & there perfect Engine....)
     
  20. Devrij

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Jul 2009

    Posts: 13,643

    Location: Bath

    So I've been putting 50 quid a month aside, and come September I'll have about 600 quid lined up, with a bit of topping up from the credit card available. Fingers crossed 700 quid nets me something decent. Looks like the 3080ti is off the cards, but at this point anything that gives a solid jump from my 980ti is welcome