1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OC Problems. X6800 / DFI Infinity 975x

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by ChrisJSY, 22 Jul 2006.

  1. ChrisJSY

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Jul 2006

    Posts: 6,552

    Location: Jersey, Channel Islands

    DFI Infinity 975X (0707Bios)
    X6800 stepping 6 b2
    2Gb Corsair XMS2 8500 DDR2 Ram
    and if it matters, Gainward 7900GTX with latest beta drivers.

    I'm cooling on air, using a vapochill micro extreme, getting temps of about 56c load @3.31.

    Which I would like to mention, is a son of a ***** to install that cooler, I think I MAY have put too much thermal paste (as5) on it, or not enough, not sure, read you put about a grain of rice or so on it and move it around a bit, but I never did that.

    I've tried a multitude of settings, from what i've read around about.
    Basically...

    Multiplier is at x11 as you can't go higher on this board for some reason, I can't go to 320FSB or above.

    Tried increasing voltages with no luck, on both the ram and cpu.
    Also changed the FSB:RAM ratio, 400/533/800 doesn't change anything.

    I'm not sure what I am doing wrong, what other information would you guys need to help me with my problem?


    Post Screen, this is as far as I get on 320 FSB and 'freezes' here.

    CPU

    RAM, 800 in this pic, tried 400 also


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 22 Jul 2006
  2. Gashman

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Mar 2006

    Posts: 4,379

    Location: Jarrow, Tyne And Wear

    didn't someone called 'drazic' mention this problem that B2 oveclocks worse than B1 and ES, and may i add he got the hell ripped out of him for it :rolleyes:
     
  3. stigggeh

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Apr 2004

    Posts: 2,900

    i aint no expert with this board but the pci clock sync looks fishy to me

    the part in the second pic that says 'pcie clock sync with - cpu clock'

    shouldnt that be set to manual (which would allow the setting in blue 1 line below to be unlocked) then left at 100mhz (which would lock it at 100 no matter what cpu speed you use)

    at the moment it looks to me like your clocking it a in sync with the cpu...
     
  4. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,116

    Location: Intel HQ

    well spotted, that should be se to sync to pci-express and then the feild underneath is changeable (but should be set to 100)

    i managed to get a nice 400 fsb on this board + easyrider has too
     
  5. lbratch

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Jul 2006

    Posts: 117

    Location: Jersey

    We did that, and it passesd BIOS ok at last, but now Windows won't boot (stuck on scrolling blue bar...two minutes so far)

    (I'm here with ChrisJSY)
     
  6. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,116

    Location: Intel HQ

    up the vcore a little + the memory should have a bit more juice?

    isnt the corsair rated from 2.1-2.2v?
     
  7. lbratch

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Jul 2006

    Posts: 117

    Location: Jersey

    Upping the voltage worked great, and it's excellent to learn that the Corsair is rated at 2.2V, that should make life easier.

    Now booted at 3.52GHz, and going to start benching.
     
  8. ChrisJSY

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Jul 2006

    Posts: 6,552

    Location: Jersey, Channel Islands

    49C Idle atm, Ill do some cpu test and mem tests now.
    Just bought Air conditioning, have to wait 4 hours for it to get ready, so temps should go down a bit, 4 pcs in here, bit hot :)


    [​IMG]
     
  9. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,116

    Location: Intel HQ

    sweet :D
     
  10. ChrisJSY

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Jul 2006

    Posts: 6,552

    Location: Jersey, Channel Islands

    Halfway through 3dmark 06 pc rebooted, maybe temps.. showed 62 when I was in bios but it must have been way higher.
     
  11. gamesaregood

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Sep 2003

    Posts: 2,809

    Location: Suffolk


    Try OCCT to make sure its stable and keep an eye on the temps while doing it.
     
  12. ChrisJSY

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Jul 2006

    Posts: 6,552

    Location: Jersey, Channel Islands

    On it, thanks,
     
  13. ChrisJSY

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Jul 2006

    Posts: 6,552

    Location: Jersey, Channel Islands

    Ohh err, CPU temps seem to all stay below 54C but MOBO Temps (northbridge?) shoots up too 77C under the tests.

    Reboots... :|
     
  14. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,116

    Location: Intel HQ

    try sticking active cooling on the northbridge, was pretty toasty when i was using it, i stuck a 60mm fan over the silver heatsink to get it down to 40ish
     
  15. ChrisJSY

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Jul 2006

    Posts: 6,552

    Location: Jersey, Channel Islands

    Ok checking around for a NB hs with fan attached if so, all I have is a 120mm fan heh.

    Would it be worth putting some AS5 under it?
     
  16. ChrisJSY

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Jul 2006

    Posts: 6,552

    Location: Jersey, Channel Islands

    Okay, found a NB fan on an old mobo, had to do a little modifications but it's stable... at around 70c.

    I dare not raise the fsb anymore because it won't really like that ;[
    I guess it's either unlocked multi when ever it works or watercooling from here on in.

    Cheers guys for all the help.
     
  17. manveruppd

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Feb 2004

    Posts: 1,086

    Location: Leeds/Cyprus

    Use a Zalman bracket man, that way you can cool the NB and angle the fan to blow a bit of air over your RAM too!
     
  18. lay-z-boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 9,231

    Location: Nantwich

    Wow these retail chips suck *doesnt buy conroe*
     
  19. ChrisJSY

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Jul 2006

    Posts: 6,552

    Location: Jersey, Channel Islands

    No they don't :confused:
    It's the DFI board having passive cooling on the NB , meaning you need to really buy a new one.
    Which practically every review overclocking on it failed to mention, and the temps in my room are nice.

    I'm a little dissapointed with this DFI board, to be honest I was going with the ASUS originally but a friend mentioned this would be better, now i'm regretting it, i'll wait till he gets his and see how it fairs up.

    For now, ....hmmm on the search for a good NB hsf.
     
  20. jellybeard999

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 7 Feb 2004

    Posts: 7,784

    Location: NE

    standard intel 875 chipset cooler ... should be easy enough :D