1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

OcUK FX 57 pre order

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Cpu_Bible, 15 Aug 2006.

  1. Cpu_Bible

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Jun 2006

    Posts: 31

    OcUK have these back on pre order not bad at that price

    any idea when they will be in
     
  2. Sinister

    Banned

    Joined: 5 Mar 2006

    Posts: 76

    just get a amd 4000 there hitting 3ghz only for under £100
     
  3. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

  4. S_D

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 358

    And then some. ;)
     
  5. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,883

    Location: Tosche Station

    Please don't buy an FX57.

    Buy a 4000+ and give hundreds of pounds to charity instead.
     
  6. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,528

    Location: Midlands

    fx57 has unlocked multi. that itself makes overclocking for the noob very very very easy.
     
  7. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,883

    Location: Tosche Station

    Yes but I like to think A64 overclocking is very simple anyway.
     
  8. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,528

    Location: Midlands

    not as simple as just increasing the multiplier.

    even a 5 year old can overclock fx57 stabily. the fx57 has ease of use when overclocking so noobs can;t mash anything up. and the only fool who buys a fx57 is a noob to begin with.
     
  9. Livestrong

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Mar 2005

    Posts: 864

    Location: KENT

    buy a amd 4000
     
    Last edited: 15 Aug 2006
  10. axe

    Banned

    Joined: 1 May 2006

    Posts: 600


    it will take about 30mins if that to learn how to overclock .. im sure that i would rather just spend time reading then spend hundreds of pounds for no reason
     
  11. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,528

    Location: Midlands


    like i said its for noobs. why do 30 mins of reading when you can enter the bios and increase the multi by 1 notch and hey presto "overclocking in under 30 seconds for dummies who get cash from their mummies".
     
  12. Hades

    Caporegime

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 25,740

    Location: Surrey

    I very much doubt the FX57 will be back in stock. Besides, an FX60 went in the members market for around £250 the other day.

    Save £100 for 30 mins work? That's the equivalent of £200 an hour AFTER tax :)
     
  13. dante6491

    Soldato

    Joined: 30 Jun 2006

    Posts: 6,035

    Location: London

    yes 4000's clock to fx speed, but dont fx's clock aswell?

    and they still hold a SMALL amount of willy waving still.
     
  14. Ghuraba

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,156

    Location: Leeds

    Why waste over £300 when pretty well most of the latest San Deigo 3700+ clock to the same speeds! £65 or £350, you decide.

    Michael
     
  15. dante6491

    Soldato

    Joined: 30 Jun 2006

    Posts: 6,035

    Location: London

    £300, from reading around here 3700's top out at 2.8ghz roughly, the STARTING speed of a fx-57. theretically the fx still clocks above that aswell?
     
  16. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,883

    Location: Tosche Station

    No they don't, it's like this to me...

    "I want to have a big willy hence have bought this."

    Really, anyone who genuinely believes that it holds an advantage over slightly worse CPU's (Apart from unlocked multi) is a complete numpty :p
     
  17. Hades

    Caporegime

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 25,740

    Location: Surrey

    Hold on a minute. My Opty 165 cost £300 new (probably get it for around £120 second hand now - if that) and runs perfectly at 2.6ghz. While that's marginally slower than an FX57 stock speed it has two cores. So in everyday use it spanks the 57.

    For £300 I'd expect more than just one core nowadays.

    I still can't see the atraction of the 57 :confused:
     
  18. Livestrong

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Mar 2005

    Posts: 864

    Location: KENT

    yeah I know I bought it runs perfect in my second rig, building my main rig now conroe should be up and running tomorrow :)
     
  19. Ghuraba

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,156

    Location: Leeds

    This is true but are a few hundred mhz worth the extra £250? I don't think so.

    Michael
     
  20. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,231

    Location: Rutland

    The current 4000+ will clock as well as any FX57 :)