1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OCZ $300 phase chage cooling

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by lego, 12 Jan 2006.

  1. lego

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Apr 2004

    Posts: 5,596

    Location: Pontypridd

    Last edited: 12 Jan 2006
  2. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 14,585

    Location: Higher Walton

    Yeah aparently price is hoped to be 300 but deffo under $500 no not sure what that'll equate to probably at least £300.

    Not sure on performance either some are rumouring it to only have R134a others suggest it'll have R507.
    Seems to only be a 1/6hp compressor but supposed to be very efficient.

    An OCZ employee has said they'd seen -12 reported on a x2 at load clocked fairly high. So doesnt seem to be a contender for the LS/GT but certainly a good budget option
     
  3. Byron

    Gangster

    Joined: 6 Dec 2003

    Posts: 420

    Location: Greece

    very good move from OCZ... :)
     
  4. PanMaster

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 May 2005

    Posts: 1,752

    IF thats true then its somewhat superior to the vapochill LS, I get +VE figures for load temps for a single core.
     
  5. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 14,585

    Location: Higher Walton

    That'll be -12 on the evap head not the cpu ;) So cpu temps would be between 10-20C at least
     
  6. Bri62

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 664

    Location: Widnes, Cheshire

    I get -40 load and -55 idle @ the evap and bios reports -25 cpu but thats gotta be wrong on my last board (Fatil1ty) it reported -9 @ idle on a fx55
     
  7. Kesnel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    For that price it might make a nice gpu cooler. :cool:
     
  8. KillBoY_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Apr 2004

    Posts: 4,114

    Location: Oxford

    i be very intrested in 1 for my cpu cooling if its 300 or less , as long as OCZ supports te product by bringing out new monting equipment for new sockets and stuff , have to wai till we see a some reviews
     
  9. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    the price of other vapo kits is whats put me off for now. if this thing is cheap enough and performs well, i might get it to break 3gig on my x2
     
  10. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 14,585

    Location: Higher Walton

  11. DanMc07

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Oct 2005

    Posts: 4,041

    Very nice, I would like one ofe these or something similar in my new rig later this year, Will need to do some more reading in to phase change, as I was going to go water :)
     
  12. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 14,585

    Location: Higher Walton

    Aye its a great stepping stone for people thinking about water due to this price. Should be awesome for the cold bugged amd chips
     
  13. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    oooh, who'll do the first review on this forum? :D
     
  14. Goksly

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Mar 2003

    Posts: 10,592

    Location: Nottingham

    also it doesnt look as nice as the one at the CES..... plain box for the shipping product ;)
     
  15. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    is there any way to fit this thing inside a case? like a stacker?
     
  16. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 14,585

    Location: Higher Walton

    Doubtfull, you'd need one of the older vapo's due to the size of the compressor and condensor.

    Can do it in the LianLi V2000 though
     
  17. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    ah, like my stacker tho. :)
     
  18. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 14,585

    Location: Higher Walton

    Probably could as with these only being 1/6hp compressors it may be small enough to fit, just depends on if you were able to do it or a case of how much it'd cost to get it done
     
  19. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    Looks like it uses R134a according to the last photo on this mini review on *****;

    http://www.*****.net/content/item.php?item=4272

    Edit: I lie, according to another site: "Although the OCZ Cryo-Z uses a compressor that has a label that says R134a that is not the case. OCZ didn't want to comment on exactly what coolant is used but did mention that they picked the best price versus performance coolant for what they wanted."
     
  20. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 14,585

    Location: Higher Walton

    Aye the people involved are being pretty tight lipped about it so far which is a shame, it was a refreshing change when they asked over on XS what type or of evap exit would be preferred.