1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OCZ or Mushkin

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Monstermunch, 18 Feb 2006.

  1. Monstermunch

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,597

    Location: Eating PI

    MY-000-MK Mushkin 2GB DDR XP4000 Extreme Performance Dual Channel Kit (2x1GB) CAS3 (991483) (MY-000-MK)
    £139.95 £139.95
    MY-057-OC OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Dual Channel Platinum Series EL-DDR CAS2 (OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K) (MY-057-OC)
    £144.95 £144.95

    Looking at these 2. I am planning on clocking quite heavily on a 4400 X2 system with DFI Mobo. The timings are much better with the OCZ but the mushkin is pc4000 instead of 3200. Will the 3200 on the OCZ restrict my clocking ability?
     
  2. Townlea

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Aug 2005

    Posts: 1,142

    Location: Preston, UK

    OCZ gets my vote, I am sure you will be able to hit PC4000 easily with alright timings
     
  3. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    Second the OCZs...

    I'm getting them myself
     
  4. MatzeR

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Oct 2004

    Posts: 139

    Location: Newport

    Glad to hear it, Just bought the OCZ myself, Was a tossup between the Mushkin
     
  5. Monstermunch

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,597

    Location: Eating PI

    One thing I need to clear up though, If I buy the OCZ (PC3200 @ 2-3-2-5) instead of the mushy (PC4000 @ 3-4-3-8) which is better for clocking. An AMD system naturally runs at 400mhz std, so would that mean that the mushy ram would have about the same timings as the OCZ at 400mhz istead of 533mhz.

    I may be assuming too much but I guessed that for clocking the PC400 would be better?

    Also, how do the AMD chips manage a 2000mhz fsb, is there a 5x multiplier involved with the HT or something?
     
  6. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 34,080

    Location: OcUK HQ

    Hi there

    Are you all getting your OCZ from OcUK now? Is our pricing still amongst the best?
     
  7. TechnoCorruption

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 May 2005

    Posts: 2,386

    It certainly is among the best, not many other shops have that set in stock.
     
  8. Monstermunch

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,597

    Location: Eating PI

    Yea, i did a check in pricerunner and yours is cheaper than most, some sites selling the ram for the same but then charging alot for delivery!

    Is anyone able to answer my question a few posts up about pc3200 vs pc4000?
     
  9. TechnoCorruption

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 May 2005

    Posts: 2,386

    It depends on what you want from your ram, I would personally take the Ocz and run a divider if needs be and keep the tight timings, Ram with loose timings (4's or worse) is a no go for me, others will disagree though and prefer ram that can do 1/1

    I had a set of the Ocz and it did 245 @ 2.5/2/3/5 which was perfect for my setup, the mushkins on the other hand will top out at a higher fsb (normally around 280) but at around *3/4/4/8* <---- Booo. Hisss :D

    As for the 2000HT, there is indeed a 5x multi, if you keep upping the fsb then you will have to drop the multi to 4x or lower to keep within the 2000 spec.
     
    Last edited: 19 Feb 2006
  10. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    Oh yeah, definetly. Pay day in 2 weeks, hopefully OcUK will have plently of them OCZs in stock at that stunning price! :D
     
  11. Monstermunch

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,597

    Location: Eating PI

    Cheers for that, but which one will allow me to get the best speed from an opty or x2 processor, I presume the PC4000, will allow better speed but not as gooder timings?

    I presume the multi's are locked on the x2's and the opty's, so obviously the clocking ability comes down to the ram. I am currently thinking this will be the case:

    Opty 170 2ghz
    mush pc4000 = 3-4-3-8 - 200mhz (std multi x10 for cpu (locked)) clock to 280mhz (max)= opty @ 2.8ghz :D
    OCZ pc3200 = 2-3-2-5 - 200mhz (std multi x10 for cpu (locked)) clock to 245mhz (max)= opty @ 2.45ghz :(
     
    Last edited: 19 Feb 2006
  12. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    There are some OCZ's equivalent to the Mushkin PC4000's you mention - the OCZ Gold XTC - exactly the same as the Muskin's if you prefer OCZ ;) and vice versa for the Muskin HP3200 - just choose whichever is the cheaper. I stretched for the OCZ 4000 EB's which have run 2-3-2-5 1T @ 200mhz and are currently doing 260mhz 3-3-2-5 1T fully stable. An excellent set of sticks - even went to 3-3-2-5 1T 270mhz memtest stable but I haven't got round to clocking the CPU yet.
     
  13. TechnoCorruption

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 May 2005

    Posts: 2,386

    You can always run a divider so that you can have high fsb but keep the ram low
     
  14. MatzeR

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Oct 2004

    Posts: 139

    Location: Newport


    Thats a yes, OCUK have drained my wage packet for many months now.

    In fact mate, im not even sure how well your pricing compares, i stopped checking. I just shop here now ;)

    Cant put a price on good service.