1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

oem 3700s for £111, got to be bargain

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Super Tigers, 19 May 2006.

  1. Super Tigers

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,919

    Location: Hull, UK

    Just been browsing through this week's bargains and Oem 3700s venus core with 1mb cache are £111inc vat. That is a decent price drop, wish I had a ton spare and I would have snapped one of these up to replace my aging Winnie that doesn't like to go over 2200mhz with any volts.
    Mate of mine got a retail boxed one a couple of weeks ago and he got a 0605 one.


    Gibbo, any chance of some stepping information on these little bargains, if you get chance to mosey over to the warehouse?

    Rob H
     
  2. booyaka

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 13,564

    if it's the AMD 64 - it's a san deigo core not venus core.
     
  3. Super Tigers

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,919

    Location: Hull, UK

    They are now Venus cores, san diegos have been replaced by the newer Venus core (not to be confused with Venice core). They still have the 1mb cache, if you run the latest version of cpuZ on the newest 3700s it shows up the Venus core label correctly. The Opteron 144, 146 etc are now also Venus cores.

    Rob H
     
  4. Mikey

    Soldato

    Joined: 28 Dec 2002

    Posts: 5,932

    Location: South Coast

    Yeah very tempting this deal, not sure when my new Shuttle arrives so just need to get a CPU and sell on my other gear. Not sure how much I want to push the outlay of £££
     
  5. WatchTower

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 4,433

    Location: Stoke-On-Trent

    I just noticed them anyone that wants a good cpu to tide them over while they wait for Intels and AMDs new cpus this for you. To think not long ago I paid £108 for my retail 3200. Anyone that turns their nose up at that deal is a complete idiotic plonka thats just hit their head ......twice. :D
     
  6. m3csl2004

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Jun 2005

    Posts: 621

    Location: Sheffield

    some are even 1 core disabled toledos :D
     
  7. quadboi

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 28 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,606


    Can you enable them :p
     
  8. Mr Mister

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,670

    thats a bad thing! :p
     
  9. m3csl2004

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Jun 2005

    Posts: 621

    Location: Sheffield

    youd be suprised ;)
     
  10. WatchTower

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 4,433

    Location: Stoke-On-Trent

    :eek: That sound great if you can enable the other core somehow.
     
  11. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 27,720

    Location: Rutland

    Last edited: 19 May 2006
  12. m3csl2004

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Jun 2005

    Posts: 621

    Location: Sheffield

  13. Sin-Tex

    Associate

    Joined: 3 Jul 2005

    Posts: 84

    So are the ones on sale here Venus & not San Deigo ?
     
  14. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 27,720

    Location: Rutland

    I don't think there's any difference?
     
  15. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 27,720

    Location: Rutland

    I thought I'd enlighten everyone :)

    quote edited because it took me ages to understand it :D
     
  16. stigggeh

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Apr 2004

    Posts: 2,897

    yeah isnt venus just the code name given to opterons, they are essentially the same core ?
     
  17. Sin-Tex

    Associate

    Joined: 3 Jul 2005

    Posts: 84

    So these things won't overclock any better than the San Deigo's then.
    Was kinda hopeing they where new cores that would overclock even better.
     
  18. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 27,720

    Location: Rutland

    They're just normal San Diegos, they will still probably hit above 2.6 though, nearly all SDs do that now.
     
  19. k3v

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,200

    Location: NE Derbyshire

    I'm tempted by one, will it be packaged so it will fit tnrough letter Box, as I won't be in and I'm a first time buyer on here so It has to Be delivered to my home address
     
  20. Mul

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,842

    afraid not. I doubt they'd just put the cpu through the letter box either. It'd require a signature.

    Mul