1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Office 2010 Startup problem

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by kristain, 1 Jun 2010.

  1. kristain

    Associate

    Joined: 17 Mar 2010

    Posts: 50

    Problems may be encountered when trying to launch Microsoft Excel 2010 beta. This includes excel not loading or locking up when it is launched.
     
  2. Andre

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Feb 2003

    Posts: 2,659

    Location: Deep dark hole

    :confused::confused::confused:

    Thanks for this

    :confused::confused::confused:

    Why aren't you using the official version yet?
     
  3. Westyfield2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 12,494

    Location: Bath

    Right...

    Why still on the Beta when the proper one is out?

    And is that Office 2010 32bit or Office 2010 64bit?

    And which operating system(s)?
     
  4. marc2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 20,239

    Location: England

    because not everyone has MSDN. it's not available via retail yet.

    FWIW, i use the beta 64bit version and haven't had any problems at all. but i do only use word and excel. :p
     
  5. robinbredin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Jan 2009

    Posts: 1,504

    Location: Northern Ireland

    You can get it from a well known software for students crowd, who are offering the 32bit and 64bit for one price.:D
     
  6. Westyfield2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 12,494

    Location: Bath

    Even better price is the Microsoft Home Use Program. £8.95 for Office Professional Plus 2010. Another £8.95 for Visio 2010.


    Thing is, I'd quite happily pay ~£100 for it, but it’s more like £380 (and that's per computer! and with a total of 6 laptops/desktops in the house) :rolleyes: ..... still, as work are a Microsoft Gold Partner (or whatever we are these days) £8.95 for Office Professional Plus 2010 will have to do! :cool:
     
    Last edited: 1 Jun 2010
  7. kristain

    Associate

    Joined: 17 Mar 2010

    Posts: 50

    Thanks for your replies.
     
  8. kristain

    Associate

    Joined: 17 Mar 2010

    Posts: 50

    can any one tell me what is the difference between office-2010 32bit and office-2010 64bit.
     
  9. Andre

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Feb 2003

    Posts: 2,659

    Location: Deep dark hole

    Do you use any of office through another program (Automation?) - if you do, you need 32bit.

    (Although I am using Win7 x64 on a machine with 12GB RAM, I am still using Office32 as I have various applications that interact with Word and Outlook.)

    If you are up for it, install Officex64 and check to see if any of your regular programs are borked, if not - keep it on, otherwise revert to Officex86.