1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

**Official Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Discussion Thread**

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Nelly, 26 Apr 2012.

  1. silent

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Dec 2003

    Posts: 2,410

    Location: heybridge, nr maldon, essex

    bios is most stable F14. keyboard is microsoft desktop 3000
     
  2. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Jul 2009

    Posts: 27,065

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

  3. silent

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Dec 2003

    Posts: 2,410

    Location: heybridge, nr maldon, essex

    yes, it picks it up when i unplug/plug or move usb ports. it happens on usb 3 and usb2 now.
     
  4. atheos

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Dec 2008

    Posts: 759

    Location: A Pale Blue Dot

    After 14 months of flawless performance (minus the PCI X-fi issue), i started getting the USB surge errors popping up.

    I reinstalled the latest USB 3.0 drivers from Intel and it was still appearing.

    I uninstalled the 3.0 Drivers yesterday and so far the errors have stopped.


    Probably a stupid question but, is the only reason to have the USB 3.0 drivers installed if you have a 3.0 Hard drive?
     
  5. theoneofgod

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Feb 2013

    Posts: 107

    Please try disable one of the 2 USB3 based drivers in the driver manager, it should stop the error (it did for me)
    Or update to Windows 8, no issues there.
     
  6. atheos

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Dec 2008

    Posts: 759

    Location: A Pale Blue Dot

    Cheers for that theoneofgod.

    Ill try it with not having 3.0 drivers installed for another day, just for troubleshooting purposes and then try your suggestion.
     
  7. 8 Pack

    OcUK Staff

    Joined: 20 Feb 2012

    Posts: 9,996

    Location: John Smiths Stadium

    You just need a good CPU to do 5ghz on any of the half decent boards which the Giga you mention is. Those that boot windows at 5ghz with 1.25v are the ones you need. I have 8 CPU that do this easy and some more.
     
  8. silent

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Dec 2003

    Posts: 2,410

    Location: heybridge, nr maldon, essex

    i have the issues with windows 8 too. but mine may have stopped for the minute.
     
  9. longjohn

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Apr 2012

    Posts: 235

    Location: southampton

    i have to rma my board coz of the usb problems
     
  10. theoneofgod

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Feb 2013

    Posts: 107

    Strange. I use all the ports at back and one up front, no such issues with Windows 8.
     
  11. Nelly

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,944

    Location: Grimsby, UK

    Front page is up-to-date again, updates as follows:

    Updated the original post to include the latest F15r beta bios that came out back in February.
    Also new utility/driver updates, as of 18th May 2013.

    Utility
    • Lucidlogix VIRTU MVP v2.1.224 *NEW* >> Click Here
    Drivers
    • Atheros LAN Driver v2.1.0.15 *NEW* >> Click Here
    • Intel LAN Driver v18.3 *NEW* >> Click Here
    • Intel ME Driver v9.0.2.1345 *NEW* >> Click Here
    • Intel PCH Driver v9.4.0.1017 *NEW* >> Click Here
    • Intel RST v12.6.0.1033 *NEW* >> Click Here
    • IntelĀ® Smart Connect Technology v4.1.40.2143 *NEW* >> Click Here
    • Intel USB 3.0 Driver v1.0.8.251 *NEW* >> Click Here
    • Intel VGA Driver v9.17.10.3062 *NEW* >> Click Here
    • Realtek HD Audio Driver v6.0.1.6662 (R2.71) *NEW* >> Click Here
     
  12. EyepodI

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Oct 2011

    Posts: 514

    Location: Surrey

    Does anyone actually use LucidLogix Virtu MVP, does it make any improvements?

    I did install it originally but couldn't see that it really did very much or could figure out what it was supposed to do in the first place :confused:
     
  13. DarrenM343

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2008

    Posts: 5,192

    Worth noting if you upgrade to this latest version of Intel RST, SSD Toolbox 3.1.2 which is the latest version but from last year will not be able to optimise it. I'm seeing 'The Intel SSD Toolbox cannot communicate with the selected Intel SSD.
    Consider changing to another storage driver compatible with your system and try the tool again.'
     
  14. covenantuk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Apr 2012

    Posts: 2,016

    Location: Edinburgh

    If you got any of the recent generations of graphics card, then it's not really worth using - the gain is negligible and you can encounter some compatibility issues if a game isn't supported meaning you'd have to turn it off anyway.

    It all depends on your system really.
     
  15. Bottle

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Dec 2004

    Posts: 99

    I'm not sure if this features in this thread, but here's a tip for this board. To cut a long story short, I noticed that my CPU was always at about 40+% load with two cores being used most of the time, even when the system was idle. I discovered that one process was responsible (httpd.exe). A bit of searching and I discovered this was associated with the Marvel Tool Tray. I had installed this when installing the Marvel drivers without really knowing what it does. I decided I didn't need it so uninstalled it and sure enough, my CPU load has dropped to virtually nil when idle.

    Take-home message: If you have accidentally installed the Marvel Tool Tray when installing the Marvel drivers, and you don't need the Tool Tray, uninstall it as it's a system hog.
     
  16. theoneofgod

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Feb 2013

    Posts: 107

    The one benefit to Lucid MVP is the ability to use Intel Quick Sync for video converting.
     
  17. longjohn

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Apr 2012

    Posts: 235

    Location: southampton

    Just had a email saying they have tested my board and found no fault with the usb ports so now im stumped, I have been getting power surge on my ports aswell so could it be a problem with my psu, I have had it for a few years now its a corsair ax850

    or has anyone else had this problem and has managed to sort it out

    Thanks
     
  18. atheos

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Dec 2008

    Posts: 759

    Location: A Pale Blue Dot

    I got that problem a few days ago too. I "solved" it by removing the Intel USB 3.0 Drivers.
     
  19. covenantuk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Apr 2012

    Posts: 2,016

    Location: Edinburgh

    "Power surge on USB" is common problem. I don't think anyone's solved it yet but it's probably related to the Intel USB3 drivers
     
  20. eddyr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Aug 2008

    Posts: 1,681

    Location: London

    They and the board don't seem to get on well. In my case mouse button holds would get interupted and be interpreted as a dbl click. Appeared straight after I installed the intel usb3 drivers and dissappeared after I removed them.