1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

**** Official Microsoft Flight Simulator Thread ****

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by lurkio, 10 Jun 2019.

  1. Zeeflyboy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Jan 2016

    Posts: 2,165

    Someone a while back was asking about wildlife - obsidianant has a great video for that person whoever it was!

    edit - @twoodster it was you!

     
  2. no idea what

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Oct 2009

    Posts: 10,775

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Not sure how it's misleading. Min specs are min specs, 720p low is still playing it.
     
  3. inferno

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 May 2004

    Posts: 1,938

    Thanks for that. I think I will get it and use it to practise on the PMDG 777 since until recently I was employed as a 777/787 pilot. Full flights sims are running at around about 1500 euros per session per person, so this is just a bit cheaper!
     
  4. Zeeflyboy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Jan 2016

    Posts: 2,165

    Sorry to hear that mate, team Nigel?
     
  5. physichull

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 22 Sep 2008

    Posts: 9,499

    Location: Warrington

    You will be waiting a while, the PMDG 777 won't be released for a while yet.
     
  6. SPG

    Soldato

    Joined: 28 Jul 2010

    Posts: 7,148

    Just remember fixed wing is just failed helicopter pilots. Same as F1 drivers are just failed motorcycle racers :)
     
  7. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: 13 May 2003

    Posts: 31,939

    Location: Warwickshire

    I guess if your definition of failure is vastly higher average salaries and lower chance of dying :p.
     
  8. SPG

    Soldato

    Joined: 28 Jul 2010

    Posts: 7,148

    Absolutely the compensation may be better and the outward face being awesome, but deep down your soul is rotting :)
     
  9. Andr3w

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 19,728

    Location: England

    If I got the normal version, will it be possible to upgrade to the deluxe etc versions in the future?
     
  10. Morfinel

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Mar 2012

    Posts: 717

    Yes but it will cost more
     
  11. Uhtred

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,924

    Location: Hertfordshire

    There is for Southampton. If you have windows 10 load bing maps and have a look.
     
  12. phil-k

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jul 2011

    Posts: 1,496

    Has anyone who has had a pre-release copy seen how many cores it uses, is there any benefit in getting a processor with more cores
     
  13. no idea what

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Oct 2009

    Posts: 10,775

    Location: Lincolnshire

    It's not actually very cpu heavy at all. It spreads the load across the cores quite well though, unlike P3d and XP11 that load one core flat out and the rest doing a little.

    I'd recommend an 8 core cpu as something that will last you well in any game for a few years.
     
  14. VortexA1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Nov 2006

    Posts: 2,378

    Location: Shoeburyness,England

    I load it and I've installed the 3d plugin but all I can get is birds-eye view. You got the 3d working? :confused: ah I installed bing maps 3d off the Microsoft store.
     
    Last edited: 9 Aug 2020
  15. physichull

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 22 Sep 2008

    Posts: 9,499

    Location: Warrington

  16. Stu999

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Aug 2015

    Posts: 1,750

    Good spot @physichull - nice to see this type of content will be available soon after launch.
     
  17. physichull

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 22 Sep 2008

    Posts: 9,499

    Location: Warrington

    40% discounts for folk who already own the products but for another platform.

    Things I gleaned from this is that there are potentially multiple companies vying for the same things here. They are also doing an Innsbruck, which already comes with the MS bundle. They are also doing London landmarks, which I'd imagine may be coveted by other third parties I guess. Could be interesting, but could mean the market is a bit of a jumble sale.
     
  18. TNA

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Mar 2008

    Posts: 18,503

    Location: London

    Nice, I have one on X-Plane that I would buy for Flight Simulator 2020 :)
     
  19. Uhtred

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,924

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Yeah I think I had to download the app from the store. If you switch to aerial and then on the right hand side you've got a tool for switching to 3d (just below the compass).

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/h668dcsbxh05x1d/ocuk.png?dl=0[​IMG]
     
  20. twoodster

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Apr 2006

    Posts: 983

    It was! Thanks for that. Slightly disappointing though as I guess animals are only in select locations. Was kinda hoping birds etc would be everywhere. Can't have everything though I guess!