1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

oil change

Discussion in 'Motors' started by gazzaa, 25 Jan 2006.

  1. gazzaa

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Jan 2004

    Posts: 1,150

    Location: leicester

    im going too change the oil in my 1.25 zetec fiesta v reg how much oil does it take 4ltr or 5ltr my ford service guide says 4ltr but the guy @ ford says put the whole 5ltr in.
     
  2. GT3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,205

    Location: Chesterfield

    Just put however much you need in :p
     
  3. Tesla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2003

    Posts: 17,405

    Location: Bristol, UK

    Don't overfill and don't underfill.

    I would put in 4l.

    Go and have a cup of tea and watch the news for 30mins.

    Dip it, probably will need to add a bit more.

    Run the engine for 5mins.

    Have another cup of tea and watch the same news stories.

    Dip it again and you may need to add a little more or may not.

    Then after a few days driving dip it again just to double check :)

    That's my method anyway. I then dip the oil and check all the fluids when I give it a wash. So about once a week/fortnight.

    Last time I was at Ford their oil was dead cheap, £13iirc for 5l of motorcraft 5W30.

    Also worth getting a new sump plug and washer for about £1.
     
  4. GT3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,205

    Location: Chesterfield

    I just put what it said to in the haynes manual, left it five minutes. Checked it, drove round the block a few times then checked again. Was just about right. If in doubt use the haynes :D

    Oh and I re-used the sump plug washer too the last two times I changed the oil and it didn't make a difference - still doesn't leak.
     
  5. gazzaa

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Jan 2004

    Posts: 1,150

    Location: leicester

    another question do u have to put oil in the filter before u put it back in the car.some say u do some say u don't. i know i sound dumb but better safe than sorry. my oil and filter cost me £15 for both from ford my birds mate's old man works for them so i got it on staff discount
     
  6. GT3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,205

    Location: Chesterfield

    I just rammed the filter in after I'd drained the old stuff out, then topped it up. It's reccomended you rub some fresh oil round the rubber seal of the filter to ensure it doesn't leak but thats about it I think.
     
  7. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Mar 2005

    Posts: 30,292

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    I trust your going to change the oil filter?
     
  8. -westy-

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Nov 2002

    Posts: 12,310

    Location: UK

    I rub a bit of fresh oil around the rubber seal, and put a bit inside the filter as well. Goes on by hand, just do it up nice and tight, that should do it.
     
  9. Barry Smalley

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,248

    Location: Tinternet

    Yeah - prime the filter before you put it on. :)
     
  10. -Mike-

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Dec 2002

    Posts: 10,166

    Location: Minehead

    Prime the filter? Are you just meaning rub oil around the seal and not fill it with oil? Why on earth do they need priming? My oil filter would be impossible to fill and then put on!
     
    Last edited: 26 Jan 2006
  11. Ultra_Extreme

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 22 Aug 2004

    Posts: 9,208

    yes just rub some oil around the seal to keep it leak free and stop the seal melting to the sump. helps if you oil the thread of the mount too, mostly both these just save time on the next oilchange, although i do it every 4k lol
     
  12. Simon

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 23,269

    Location: Berks / Moscow

    Some filters dont need to be tipped too fit, its a good idea to fill them first if this is the case, then remove king lead from the coil and crank for 20seconds to make sure the oil gets around the engine before you actually start it
     
  13. -Mike-

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Dec 2002

    Posts: 10,166

    Location: Minehead

    I can see it being a good idea with your car. We did that on a RS turbo that we rebuilt. However its a little more difficult to do even that with my dt.