1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Old School Problem

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by monkeypants, 17 May 2006.

  1. monkeypants

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,812

    Location: A lake!

    H'ok here's the deal:

    2x 450Mhz/100/512 Pentium 3s
    Compaq AP550 motherboard with VRM
    512Mb RDRAM
    Win98SE

    When I boot up, both CPUs are recognised but in Windows only one is found. What do I need to do to get both working?
     
  2. MikeTimbers

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,277

    Location: New Eltham, London

    re-install or get hold of uptomp.exe from the resource kit.
     
  3. benjo plz.

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Jan 2004

    Posts: 14,208

    Location: Hall

    Open up device manager, open up the "computer" section, it should say something like ACPI Uniprocessor PC (If it says multiprocessor pc, it has detected it). Do update driver, I will choose driver, and select ACPI multiprocessor pc. Windows 98 afaik doesn't support SMP though.

    I'd go for Server 2003 or at the very least 2000 tbh.
     
  4. meaz

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 336

    Yeah, seeing as you're running windows 98 it cant be done afaik. Only NT based OS' like 2000 & X support multi processors for x86 and linux.

    ive got 4 ap550s, one is a dual 667 with only 256mb rd ram that runs xp at reasonable speed.
     
    Last edited: 18 May 2006
  5. monkeypants

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,812

    Location: A lake!

    Installing XP pro, it said something about hardware incompatibility, I ignored it and carried on but after the restart and it's preparing the installation, the screen blanks, gets a red patch on it and a few letters/numbers (randomly) then switches off.

    Anyone know my problem?
     
  6. meaz

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 336

    Did the message mention what the incompatibility was at all? you sure the graphics card is supported by XP?
     
  7. monkeypants

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,812

    Location: A lake!

    I couldn't find anything specific about the incompatibility, but the graphics card has been running on XP Home in a previous life.
     
  8. monkeypants

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,812

    Location: A lake!

    OK, now with Server 2003 it's turning off during the installation, I'll try again later when I've only got one PC running on the power socket. If it's not the power, what might it be?
     
  9. benjo plz.

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Jan 2004

    Posts: 14,208

    Location: Hall

    What motherboard is it? AP550 is the machine model or something, cause I'd try updating the bios.

    and do this - "In the system BIOS, you must set the hard drive and system timeout to never. This option is located under power\timeouts."
     
    Last edited: 18 May 2006
  10. monkeypants

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,812

    Location: A lake!

    No idea about the exact model of the motherboard, but the time out thing worked.

    Now, it's not recognising PS/2 devices so I can't boot it. :/

    EDIT: It works with just the keyboard plugged in... :confused:
     
    Last edited: 19 May 2006
  11. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,741

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    EDIT: Crap, I meant to post in a different thread. I must learn to pay more attention! :o :o :o :o