1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Only 1 HDMI input - what now?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema & Hi-Fi' started by Domo, 31 May 2006.

  1. Domo

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,522

    Location: Surrey, UK

    How serious a problem is this on an LCD or plasma TV? Obviously as time progresses there'll be more and more HDMI gadgets available to connect inc. consoles and HD-DVD/Blu-Ray players.

    Are we all faced with using those ghastly looking switch boxes?
     
  2. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Nov 2005

    Posts: 21,732

    By the looks of things..

    Your going want one for each of these sooner or later (sky HD , HD DVD player , PS3)
     
  3. MrMoon

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 22 Dec 2002

    Posts: 1,596

    or get an AV amp that has HDMI as it can output all 3 connections to just one socket on your TV
     
  4. tom_nieto

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 11,050

    Location: Birmingham

    To fully take advantage of high def you need great sound too. As the technology becomes more common, cheaper and cheaper receivers and all in one systems will start to incorporate HDMI.
     
  5. pinkaardvark

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,705

    Location: Cambs

    I wouldn't say it was a big problem as most TV's also have component and DVI. My telly cost 2k and only has 1 hdmi which I used briefly with a DVD player but am currently using a HTPC via vga. My amp deals with all the sound sources so my telly is always on mute anyways.

    There are hdmi splitter boxes on the auction sites for pennies as well so I don't ever see it being a big issue.
     
  6. Lanz

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Nov 2002

    Posts: 6,855

    Location: Romford

    Cant you daisy chain HDMI like you could with scart? Im sure i read somewhere its possible.
     
  7. Eliot

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Mar 2005

    Posts: 5,792

    well twin hdmi tvs are now starting to break in, the tosha wtl66? and the new samsuing m series screens, i bet the splitters will get a whole lot cheaper soon, i dont see why those boxes shouldnt be 20 quid anyway to be honest
     
  8. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Nov 2005

    Posts: 21,732

    As demand takes up for them,then they drop in price..
    I guess right now there very few being sold with so few items having HDMI..
     
  9. TONY

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,525

    Location: Birmingham, uk

    Unfortunatly it's not that easy with HDMI, and hdcp doesn't make it any easier.
     
  10. Randell

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Jan 2003

    Posts: 720

    pennies? Cheapest 1 to 2 HDMI splitter I've seen is £120! Lucky my JVC has component and 2 HDMI inputs eh? :)
     
  11. vodkacokebloke

    Hitman

    Joined: 20 Nov 2004

    Posts: 887

    Location: Stoke

    a half decent switcher is nearly 200. Dont ask me why, they just are unfortunately.

    id sell the tv quick and buy another one, twin hdmis are out on various models, have been for a while on certain models.

    It was one of the main reasons i bought toshiba tbh
     
  12. poltergeist666

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Feb 2003

    Posts: 381

    Location: Southampton

    A company by the name of Geffen produce HDMI switchboxes - up to 4 inputs and one output - HDCP compliant, oh, and expensive!!
     
  13. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,735

    Location: London

    Just use component and vga, they both support more than 1080p.
     
  14. Goatboy

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 22 Oct 2003

    Posts: 4,023

    Location: a crappy part of London


    From what I've read component won't do 1080p, not because of cable limitations just because no TV inputs go above 1080i
     
  15. poltergeist666

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Feb 2003

    Posts: 381

    Location: Southampton

    I didn't think that component had the analogue bandwidth to carry 1080P
     
  16. poltergeist666

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Feb 2003

    Posts: 381

    Location: Southampton

    Edited /deleted due to stupidity - Mine! :rolleyes:
     
  17. Simian

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 8,117

    Location: Swindoniantown

    Dunno if they're competitors but... Lektropaks have 3 way switchers for £125 (new products), 4 way switchers for £150, 6 way for £175 and 8 way for £200... :)
     
  18. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,735

    Location: London

    "A couple of high-end Hp's can handle 1080p via computer inputs. The HP models, specifically the 58-inch MD5880n and the 65-inch MD6580n."

    Component 1080p will work in the future though when new tvs come out.
     
    Last edited: 1 Jun 2006