1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Opteron 146 and ASUS A8N-E

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by iamsteg, 22 May 2006.

  1. iamsteg

    Associate

    Joined: 7 Oct 2005

    Posts: 24

    Ive decided to get an opteron 146 and was wondering if I can use it in my current motherboard (ASUS A8N-E) or if i will need to purchase a new one, and if so, which do you recommend.
    Cheers.

    ps. What air cooler would you recommend for this cpu?
     
  2. moogie

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,212

    Location: warwks

    assuming there the same socket eg 939 then yes
     
  3. Mikey1280

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: South East London

    However I'm not too sure how good the A8N-E is for ocing, something you should consider, but If you already have it you might as well try the opty in there and see how far it will go
     
  4. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 27,769

    Location: Rutland

    Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro if you're on a tight budget, Thermaltake Big Typhoon/Sythe Ninja if you've got some cash to spend :)
     
  5. moogie

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,212

    Location: warwks

    I use the Thermaltake Big Typhoon and would recommend it
    got for not much more than the Arctic