1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Opteron 165 but which Ram?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by -Hotplate-, 1 Feb 2006.

  1. -Hotplate-

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 194

    Hi guys,

    I recently decided to upgrade my PC and after speaking to a few friends i decided to buy an Opteron 165. (the 146 are going for over £180 on ebay now, so no point not spending a little more).

    After looking at all the mobo's I will probably end up buying the latest Asus, the A8N32-Sli deluxe, or at worst the A8N Sli Premium. I have considered the DFI range but i'm defo leaning towards the Asus.

    I will also be buying a 7800GT from somewhere, probably just a 400Mhz model and clock it myself.

    But i am SOOO confused when it comes to the best RAM to use for this system to get the best, or at least a good over clock on the Opty.

    I will only be using air, i'm not at all interested in using water.

    I have read an awful lot on here about memory speeds and memory timings, and theres some really useful and helpful advice, but i'm still not sure.

    I want a 2GB matched pair, and i'm happy(ish) to spend the money. I have looked at various PC4000, (because people tell me this is what i should be buying) but the OCZ Platinum is O.O.S.

    The Mushkin Redlines look excellent, and the 1GB version dont appear to want as much voltage either prepared to older mushkins.

    The XMS3500LL memory is highly praised on the Asus website, as developed for the Asus board, and is highly recommended by one member on these forums, who also has an Asus board.

    But i'm not sure the XMS3500LL is meant to be clocked as high as the 165 is able to go.

    Anyways, as you can see, i'm a bit lost now. :(

    Anyone got any suggestions please? All replies are appreciated.

    Thanks

    -Hotplate-
     
  2. rxmac

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Jun 2005

    Posts: 644

    Location: Northants

  3. UTmaniac

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Nov 2005

    Posts: 5,799

    Location: Southampton

    If this helps...

    I have received the G.Skill HZ 2GB kit (plus a leadtek 7800GT) today to go with my Opty 165. So far, the memory is happy at 265MHz at 3-4-4-8, running 1:1 with CPU :cool:
     
  4. Mana

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2002

    Posts: 4,051

    Location: .earth

    wow that is some nice memory and a nice overclock there...

    am thinking that that might be the memory to overclock my 3500+ as its good for 260x10 at least!
     
  5. FrankJH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jun 2005

    Posts: 22,456

    I am getting an Opty 170 and Gskill Hz 2Gb delivered tomorrow ( along with a few other lil bits and pieces )
     
  6. glitch

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 4,385

    Sorry to barge in guys, but wanted to ask the owners of the 165s a quick question. Did you get a retail pack 165? If so, what was the cooler like inside the box?
     
  7. -Hotplate-

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 194

    Thanks for the responses guys.....

    I was hoping "man_from_uncle" might of commented about the XMS3500LL

    Mine hasnt arrived yet, but it is Retail......and tbh it doesnt matter what the heatsink and fan are like in the box, as i wont be using it anyways...

    I have also ordered one of these.............
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/copy_of_Arctic_Cooling.html

    Artic Freezer Pro 64............. should do the trick nicely ...
     
  8. rxmac

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Jun 2005

    Posts: 644

    Location: Northants

    Got mine a couple of days ago and it's stock hsf a heat pipe affair, same as the X2's use from what i understand. It looks quite good but i too won't be using it, not on my oppy anyway, might slap it on my 754 sempron though.
     
  9. glitch

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 4,385

    Was it one of these?

    Anyway, RAM for Opteron 165. By all accounts (and this is by no means definitive) you'll get better overall performance by pushing the HTT speed of your 165 up and using a divider to run your chosen RAM at the tightest timings and highest speed you can.

    So the Corsair XMS3500LL Pro would be a pretty good choice, but if you want to try for a 1:1 divider then you're either going to limit the HTT speed of your Opteron or have to go for some PC4000 memory. In which case, something like the Corsair XMS4000PT, Mushkin Redline XP4000 or OCZ Platinum PC4000 would be a safe choice. There's not a massive amount to call between them, but it's safe to say that the Corsair is the weakest of the three, albeit by a small amount.

    But it's also about £70 - £100 cheaper. Horses for courses really.
     
  10. rxmac

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Jun 2005

    Posts: 644

    Location: Northants

    Its the 4 pipe version of those 2 in that other thread.
     
  11. w3bbo

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Nov 2005

    Posts: 10,663

    Location: Up North

    I have an Opty 165 and 2 gig 3500ll with an A8n32 board.

    Running 300x9 (2.7ghz) with memory @133mhz 3-3-3-8 2.9v memtest pass.

    If you wanted tighter timings then you can also run 289x9(2.6) @133mhz 2-3-2-6 2.8v. Memtest pass.

    At stock settings the memory will run @ 200mhz(400 effective) 2-3-2-5 2.7v. Memtest pass.

    For 24/7 running I have it set at 278x9 (2.5) @ 166 2-3-2-6 2.75v

    All above settings are at 1T (dual).

    Hope this helps.
     
  12. mattup

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Jan 2006

    Posts: 770

    Location: Reading

    I dont understand why you run your ram so slow?
    The ram is rated to 436mhz @ 2,3,2,6 @ 2.75.
     
  13. w3bbo

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Nov 2005

    Posts: 10,663

    Location: Up North

    Coz anything more than 250fsb and it wont boot unless I use a divider.