1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

opteron cores

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by ted34, 9 Mar 2006.

  1. ted34

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 1,738

    Location: Edinburgh

    Are all 939 dual core 1 series opterons on toledo core and then the 940 sledgehammer - just seen a 1 series apparently with a sledgehammer core which is new to me?
     
  2. Mul

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,842

    No such thing as a 939 Opteron with sledgehammer core. They're all toledo/denmark
     
  3. ~Divine~Wind~

    Underboss

    Joined: 14 Jun 2004

    Posts: 16,136

    Location: Newcastle U/T

    CPUZ reports mine as a venus ?
     
  4. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: 7 Aug 2003

    Posts: 41,526

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    S939 Opteron cores are:-
    San Diego - single core
    Toledo - dual core

    There are no S940 1-way equivalents anymore, they were Venus and Denmark but as far as I'm aware they never made it to market.

    Jokester
     
  5. ~Divine~Wind~

    Underboss

    Joined: 14 Jun 2004

    Posts: 16,136

    Location: Newcastle U/T

    Jokester,

    My opty 146 was bought a coupla months back, full retail, s939 0540 FMPW iirc

    just a glitch in cpuz ?

    there were 3 or 4 of us that all ordered at the same time and im sure all of them show as venus.
     
  6. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: 7 Aug 2003

    Posts: 41,526

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Current CPU-Z version reports them wrong, it's mainly due to the AMD roadmap saying the 90nm 1-way Opterons are Denmark and Venus, but this goes way back to before AMD decided to release S939 Opterons so they are the S940 versions (S940 has a different memory controller so its a different core).

    Jokester
     
  7. ~Divine~Wind~

    Underboss

    Joined: 14 Jun 2004

    Posts: 16,136

    Location: Newcastle U/T

    Ah right,

    this may explain the OP's Q then.

    When i first installed my opty it showed as a sledgehammer until I updated CPUz to v1.31